Where are you?

Just popping in to wave hello to my readers and let you all know I’m okay. Truly. Some  have been wondering what has happened to me since I suddenly stopped blogging months ago, but I AM okay. Happy in fact!!

 

So what happened?

 

Um…not much…..lots…..very little….everything. LOL

 

I needed a break. I needed to take a BIG step away from my blog and my craft room. I needed to look up and look around. I wanted to (re)connect with other people……..real people, people down the street, people I rub shoulders with. You know what I mean. I needed to find some balance and ground myself with the world around me. It’s been good.

However, a few months ago I ventured back into my craft room to see what I left behind. At first it felt alien, but I’ve been content to re-acquaint myself with some of my old supplies and find a spark with some new purchases. I just dabbled around with out a need to share what I was doing. That felt good too. I just did it.

.

Soon I’ll be attending my annual Stamp Camp and I had made a commitment to make name badges and ATCs for a swap, so I had some compelling motivation to make a real effort to get something made. I thought you might be interested in what my ATC’s looked like. It had taken me several days to get my final design concept down. I had an idea to do something with birds and nature but I just couldn’t get the idea I had in my head to translate to a card I could easily reproduce 40 times over. So a new idea was called forth.

 

SSI Stamp Camp 2014 Swap

Now, as you can see – and guess – this wasn’t a design that could quickly be reproduced, lol. There was lots of die cutting, punching, inking, stamping and fussy cutting. But I did start this months ahead of the swap date, and it was the only project I had on my plate at the time so I was good to put the effort into making this work out well. It just required a bit of thoughtful planning.

.

SSI Stamp Camp 2014 Swap2

And this is what 40 of them look like!! You can well imagine that I was delighted to get the final one made. I did give myself a whole month to get it done, working in small 10 minute blocks. You’d be surprised at what can get done in that time. And I’m pleased to say that the last looks as good as the first. It can be so easy to fall into sloppiness with this many to do, but I felt it was important to put my best effort into each and every one. I can only hope my swappers like them too.

With all those finally done I then moved onto the next task of making the 40 name tags. I don’t have them with me anymore since I passed them onto the camp committee, but I’ll get some photos of the camp and show them in the next post.

 

Then, I found time to participate in the odd challenge or two. Below are a couple of my favourite cards I made.

.


IC451 Leif Shop

I purchased some new Stampin’ Up! supplies, including some of the new 2014-2016 In Colors which I used here. For some reason I’ve never been able to bring myself to part with this big Stampin’Up!  floral image.

 

.
FS390 Stamptek

And here is another card featuring old retired Stampin’Up! images infused with the latest In Colors.

.

So there you have it. A renewed ‘Hello’ from me and a sampling of a bit of  stamping eye candy. Drop me back a ‘Hello’ in the comments if you feel you’d like to. I know some of you are still lurking about. And I must say a big welcome to all my new subscribers since my last post, months ago. Glad to have you on board.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Where are you?

  1. Lovely ATCs and cards. Good to see you back crafting.

  2. Trish (Goosha)

    Hello Theresa. It’s great to see you back. Love your work and love reading your blog. Trish, in Perth

  3. Barb M

    You’ve made beautiful cards and ATCs and I’m glad you shared them. Please share your creations whenever you can. I understand your need to step away and reconnect with those around you. Enjoy stamp camp when you go.

  4. Jenny Cocking

    Hi Theresa,
    Great to see you back on your blog. Have been wondering what you were doing. ATC look great and so does the card.
    hugs from Jenny (Cats Club) Waterford Qld.

  5. Hello, Theresa! Oh, so good to see you back! I can totally relate with your need to stand aside for a bit and reconnect with life. Good for you, but what a delight to see your creations again. I’m still definitely here…ooohing and ahhhing over your gorgeous work. Love the tag…well, all 40 of them…and your amazing cards. You are so talented and always such fun inspiration. Hope all is well with you and yours.

  6. Jenni

    thrilled your back in your studio looking forward to stamp camp weekend and the marvelous name badges that you create.

  7. Good to see you back! Your goodies are always so inspiring.

  8. Thank you everyone for your hellos, encouragement and understanding. I appreciate your efforts to leave a comment here, even if it’s just to say hello.

  9. Fantastic ATC’s love them. You are a power machine to make 40.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

