Simon Says Add A Button

This weeks challenge at Simon Says Stamp and Show is to use buttons in some way in our creation. That gave me the perfect excuse to try something that I’ve had on my crafty bucket list for a while – to make my own mini buttons with shrink plastic.

.

SSSS Buttons 1

Since I was using buttons I went with a dressmakers theme for my tag. I diecut a dressform from the Sewing Room Sizzix die and ‘dressed’ it with patterned paper. The skirt was cut freehand and scored to create pleats. The ‘lace’ trims where trimmed away from a diecut doiley by Cheery Lynn, and the left over pieces were used to decorate the tag. I added some stamped elements as embellishments and background collage stamping. Stamps are by Tim Holtz and Inspired By Stamping.

.

SSSS Buttons 2

But this post is all about the buttons, right? On the Sewing Room die with the dressform is also a button shape, which I cut out of my shrink plastic film. I used the heat gun to shrink it down and it was fun to see it shrivel and curl before it regained its flattened state. These were so easy to do! I coloured them with a quick dab of alcohol ink before gluing them onto my paper dress. As an afterthought I smeared on some Distress Stickles in Rock Candy, and then liberally sprinkled some more clear glitter over the top.

Haven’t we all wished for a pretty sparkly dress!

Have fun.

Categories: Cherry Lynn Designs, Simon Says Stamp and Show | Tags: , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Simon Says Add A Button

  1. Carol Mc

    Gorgeous tag.

  2. Love it! I spent some time yesterday – cold wet Sunday – playing with shrink plastic too. It’s such great fun!!

  3. Oh this dress is awesome! Love the whole tag…vintage chic! The buttons are perfect! Just a gorgeous tag! Thanks for buttoning up with us this week here at Simon Says Stamp & Show!!!

  4. stampersuzz

    A lovely pretty charming tag. The dress is beautiful with the pattern paper and the pleats. Sweet design. Glad you joined us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

  5. Cath

    Glitter? You are branching out…lol

  6. Oh! What a pretty dress! I love your tag!

  7. Love the pleats! Tag goes together perfectly!

  8. Wow!!! I love the roses on the dress. The pleats are beautiful and the buttons are perfect!!! Love it!!! ~Sophia

  9. I’m new to your site and I’m wondering, when you glue items onto your tags, what kind of glue do you prefer?

    Thank you!
    Sarah
    sfarrell24 at yahoo dot com

    • I prefer to use the following adhesives – Scotch Quick Dry Adhesive, Ranger Inksentials Glossy Accesnts, Ranger Studio Multi-medium Matte, X-press double-sided adhesive, and foam mounting squares by LeSuh. These five products fulfill 95% of my adhesive needs.

  10. What a brilliant tag – the pleats in the dress, fabulous way to incorporate the buttons – it’s a complete delight.

    Not sure how I’ve managed not to be following you, but that all changes right now!!
    Alison x

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

