12 Tags of 2013 – June

Hello friends and welcome to my new subscribers.

It was a pleasant change of pace to have some extra time during the week for some creative pursuits, so I got stuck into doing my June tag inspired by Tim Holtz. Interestingly enough he chose to work with a couple of mediums that I have no great affinity with – markers and paint. Ha! And there is a reason why most of  my stamp collection is devoid of line art images. Hmmm! I did however, despite my apparent aversions, have a go at colouring several images with my Stampin’Up! markers. I’ve done it before and got good results…..but meh….. I just wasn’t loving it. And if it’s going to go on my wall I’ve got to love it, right. So I went back to Tims Tag to find my inspiration.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Jun a

And this is the end result. Definitely worthy of a place on my wall.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Jun b

The base tag was coloured very much as Tim demonstrated with paints and stains. As usual most of it gets covered up with stamping and other stuff, but before that occured I had a very pleasing background to work with. The backgound was then over stamped with several images to match my theme. This time I used a Cobalt Archival ink. You know how I don’t like to use black, and I thought the Cobalt was a good match for the blueprint theme I had going on. I embellished this theme with a collection of ‘ephemera’, some of which are Kaiswercraft diecuts and the other a stamped piece of vellum.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Jun c

I bought this little stamp in a sale bin a long time ago, never used it, and in spite of several interim purges I always kept it. Just love the look of it I guess. So I stamped it off with the Colbalt ink onto watercolour paper and coloured it with my waterbrush and Distress Inks. I liked the splatter that Tim used on his tag and I had a practice at doing it on some scraps first. I like the results I got from pooling some Distress Stains onto the end of a pallet knike and then flicking, and when I went to commit some splatter to my image I had a little spill and got big splotches, lol. I quickly mopped up what I could, and loved it it even better than my original intention. So this week I’m going to enter into Simon Says Stamp and Show with at Splatter and a Splotch, which both begin with the letter S. Got to love those little mishaps!

.

12 Tags of 2013 Jun d

Ah… another one of those stamps from long ago, never used and always kept. The border detail stamp is an Anna Griffin treasure. A piece of decorative stonework for a building maybe? And I had to find a way to use my new stamp set, Going Somewhere, from my winnings from Tim, and this little phase was perfect in sentiment and size for this little scrap.

Last month when I went to the city, I took a guided tour around Brisbane. I worked right in the heart Brisbane many years ago, and you think you know your city pretty well, but doing a tour reveals all those treasures I had brushed passed everyday without ever ‘seeing’. I loved hearing the stories about the old buildings and what was left behind for future generations. Do you know about the treasures in your city or town?

.

12 Tags of 2013 Jun Tag Wall

And I leave you with a pic of the ‘Wall’. See you back here again for the next round. Get creative!

Categories: Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013 | Tags: , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2013 – June

  1. WOW!!! What a gorgeous take! I love the background…just stunning, and the splotches on the image are an excellent finish! Wonderful! Thank you for sharing your letter S make with us this week here at Simon Says Stamp & Show!

  2. Love it! The colors are very spring ish and you brought it all together so nicely. Nice to see you so early in the month. Hope you have some more time for you!

  3. Great tag – I love the blended background, and the splotches and splatters! 🙂 Thanks for joining us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge!

  4. A stunning tag, well worth of a place on your wall! Love the gorgeous colours and your happy ‘accident’ splotches look amazing. Very nice border trim too. A really beautiful tag. Anne x

  5. Wow, your tag caught my eye on Tim’s blog and then I came here. How wonderful it turned out. I love everything about it. So lovely!

  6. Char

    Beautiful tag and a great addition to your wall. I enjoy seeing the completed ones and look forward to seeing the wall in its entirety at year’s end.

  7. Love your gorgeous background and all that layering!

  8. Beautiful tag!!! Love the colors your chose. The layers are fantastic!!! Love it!!! ~Sophia

  9. I’m not a blue-person at all, but woah does that cobalt look good on the background! I love your idea about the wall as well 🙂

  10. Barb cady

    What a fabulous tag! Your collection is looking awesome, well done!

  11. Utterly fabulous – too right it deserves a place on your wall. It radiates ith a real sense of light.

  12. Beautiful tag….just gorgeous…love the bulletin board too!

  13. Love all the colors, and so many layers. Beautiful! I really like your subject matter!

  14. kate

    hi, just found your blog, l love your tags, just wondering what the name of the stamp set was, love the look of the heritage buildings, thanks for sharing……….kate

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

