12 Tags of 2013 – April

Hello readers and a big welcome to all my new followers who have joined me here. Whoa, it has been weeks since I last posted and I know some of you have noticed the gap. My work load looks set to stay in overdrive for months to come as some major flood reconstruction projects have only just begun. This week I managed to ‘book’ myself a few indulgent hours in my craftroom on one of my days off, so I was able to get a tag done for my tag wall. Yay! But before I get onto that I must give a shout out to Simon Says Stamp for the $50 gift voucher I won for linking my last post up to one of their recent challenges. Woo hoo!

So here I am at last with something made for this months 12 Tags of 2013 inspired by Tim Holtz. This month Tim focused a lot on using his new paint collection, of which I have none. And I still only own two colours of acrylic paint, white and turquoise, so my alternatives where pretty slim when it came to making a tag with similar techniques that Tim used for his tag. But it was doable!

.

12 Tags of 2013 April

Following Tims process as described for his tag I made a background with a base of acrylic paints, layered dye ink over the top and lastly randomly flicked on water spots to react with the ink. This technique gives a whole different way of layering and removing colour which I’d love to experiment more on.

.

12 Tags of 2013 April 4

I lacked ideas for alternatives for many of the techniques and embellishments Tim used this time around, so it was paper and stamping all the way for me. The winged insects was a theme I could work with and my trio of butterflies were a combo of stamping and tissue paper prints.

.

12 Tags of 2013 April 5

I treated the twigs in much the same way Tim did with his dragonfly by stamping the image in the background and layering a cut out of the same over the top. I used Stamp2Cut to get the intricate cutting details with the twig. When I cut these twigs I do a whole bunch at one time and this particular one was deemed by me to be dud since the stamping didn’t seem to be quite right, but I like the faded washed out look as it adds a a great contrast against the background. Love it when a fail turns into a save!

.

12 Tags of 2013 April 6

Since I only had paper and stamps to work with I decided to create ephemera-like embellishments in the form of tickets, journal notes and text. I die cut my tickets from a previously made background tag. It was originally made for a Christmas theme but I figured if I flipped the ticket upside down the original ‘Christmas’ stamping would become less apparent. I never discount anything in my stash for use on a project.

.

12 Tags of 2013 April 2

First row of the Tag Wall 2013 is now complete.

.

12 Tags of 2013 April 3

Looking very colourful indeed. I love to create through applying colour. Much more vibrant than my real life, lol. This week Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge asks us to focus on colour, so I’ll be linking in with them this week.

Not sure when I’ll be back with another post. I’ve got some choises to make with some upcoming work that could see me living away from home for up to two weeks at a time or working 12 hour shifts six days a week. I can see that I’ll have to book another appointment with myself in the craftroom if I want to get anything done, lol. And all this work is cutting deep into my social interaction thru blogging and forums so I’m feeling like I’m having a one sided relationship and some wonderful connections are getting short changed from my side. Thank you for all your support during this time. And in the meantime happy crafting to all you lucky people who are still carrying on. I miss you!

.

Categories: Stamp2Cut, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013 | Tags: , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2013 – April

  1. Trish W

    Doin’ good, girl. lol. I absolutely love your work.

  2. Beautiful work Theresa. I joined in with this last year and you gorgeous tags have got me thinking I might have to play catch up!!

  3. Oh my goodness! Your tag is stunning! You may not have had Tim’s equipment but your result is just amazing, I love everything about this tag and also the others you have created. Your work is really and truly inspirational.

  4. Tracy Evans

    Fabulous tag, lovely background and the butterflies are fabulous. Love the added flowers and tickets. Great improvisation considering you did not have all the products. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Tracy x

  5. Gorgeous take!!! This is looking so fabulous!!! I love the blue and the flowers!!! Thanks for sharing your true colors with us this week here at Simon Says Stamp & Show!

  6. Absolutely gorgeous!! Love them all.

  7. Pingback: 12 tags of 2013 – may… | Tim Holtz

  8. Yay you!!! Congrats on your win for this stunning tag!

  9. Gorgeous tag! Congrats on your win!

  10. Absolutely beautiful – the colours, the die-cut twigs, the improvisation with the paints – altogether wonderful. Congratulations on your win!
    Alison x

  11. Congrats on your win, it’s well deserved !!!

  12. Such a fun tag! Love that you used what you had! I love the vibrant colors and the fun embellishments you layered. Congrats on your win!! Enjoy your goodies!!

  13. Congratulations! Your tag is lovely! The coloring is great. I really like your composition.

  14. Stunning tag! Just found it on TIm’s site…. congrats!

  15. Hi Theresa! Wow when you make something it is top notch, I can’t imagine if you had more time! I love this tag. I have been missing your fun outlook on life, will keep checking in on your blog,take care!

  16. Lynett. Martino.

    Hello,
    Enjoyed your website.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

