12 Tags of 2013 March

So here we are, racing towards the end of another month and that means I need to get cracking with my tag wall post. Mr Tim Holtz has once again inspired us to get creative with this months tag installment. I must admit that the soft colour palette and the abscence of inking manilla for this months tag had me stumbling at the starting block and I think I just kept coming back to look at it for the first two weeks trying to figure out what to do. In the end, with time running out I eventually resorted to making most of this tag much like the last, in my work breaks with a small stash of supplies.

.

12 Tags of 2013 March

Considering I had to make do with whatever I took with me for the two days it took to make this I’m well pleased with the end result. There were several moments of frustration for lack of supplies that I was ready to scrap it, but knowing I’d probably not get time to start again challenged me to salvage what I could from my meager stash and just keep at it. My tag was already prepared with stencilled moulding paste and I added Twinkling H2O watercolour paints to the background for colour. Lucky I had a mostly sunny day that day and I was able to get it dry, eventually, since I couldn’t use a heat gun, lol.

.

12 Tags of 2013 March a

Tim used a banner on his tag and I decided I wanted that feature on my tag so a couple of banner die cuts made it into my box of tricks. I end up tossing the first since I messed it up and crossed my fingers the next, and last, banner would be more pleasing. It was a close call. After I committed to attaching it firmly with glue I just wasn’t that thrilled about it. My tag by this time was all but complete but I was out of ideas in my craft box. I eventually figured out what needed to be done though and once I was back in my craft room I was able to add the finishing touches with the mini floral arrangment.

.

12 Tags of 2013 March b

There were some elements from Tim tag I wanted to adapt to my tag including the rabbit, the die cut aperture, some sparkle and the ribbon. I own a grand total of one rabbity thing, so that stamp made it into my box. I was going to forego the die cut aperture but as I was searching through  my tag stash I found one solitary tag with a ticket window cut out of it. Seriously! WOW, so glad I saved that reject and put it back into my tag basket. I cut it down to make a frame out of it, made a mess out of the front side, flipped it over to the back side and stamped right over the top of the stains to be found there. And call me crazy, but I did take a couple of pots of glitter with me to work that day and miraculaously I didn’t make a awful mess with it. Then there was the ribbon. The seam binding was smooshed with ink, wetted down and left to dry in the open air while I did other things. I was just going to use it for the tag hole but it occured to me I could use it for the rabbits cravat too, so I did.

.

12 Tags of 2013 March c

The other inspired element I want to add was the paper grass. Once again I go to my stash of inked up tags and find what I need and  cut a tapered fringe. And for good measure I add some extra embellishments with flowers and fronds left over from the banner.

.

12 Tags of 2013 March tag wall

And the tag wall for March 2013 is finally updated, with a lot of determination and perserverance.

.

March 2013 Crafting

Thought some of you might be interested in my seeing my ‘make do’ crafting station for the week. Lucky for me I had a quiet job that week and the weather was fine most of the time. I left the cropping tote at home and used a plastic storage unit instead since it would be more dust proof and I could use the lid for wetter crafting. With a vague idea about what I wanted to do I could keep my supply selection down to  what I thought would be most useful. On the ute tray you can see my art journal, ink pads, pre-inked tags, adhesives and spray bottle and inside the box are my stamps. paints and other tools. I wouldn’t want to craft like this too often but in a pinch it worked out. Having a selection of pre-inked background tags really extended my options with adding colour and layers to my finished tag.

This weekend will be Easter and we will be heading off to see family in other parts. All previous planned trips over the last few months have had to be aborted due to inclement weather so we are crossing our fingers we get lucky this time. See you all in the new month and until then, happy crafting.

Categories: Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2013 March

  1. Cath

    I love the make do craft space. If determination counts for anything you have to get top marks.

    I wonder if the wider variety of colours and shapes this year is Tim’s fault or if the change of location is also contributing.

  2. beautiful!

  3. Evelyn

    Hi Theresa, you always seem to amaze me.Where there’s a will, there’s a way . The tag is gorgeous . Have a lovely Easter. Hugs Ev.x.

  4. Love your travel art station…too dang cool! Your tag is FABULOUS! Love your bunny all dressed up so snazzily! Great take!

  5. Happy Easter Theresa! Have you checked out Tim’s April tag? I can’t wait to see your take on it, I really enjoy checking out your blog.

  6. I love your take on the Tim Holtz 2013 tags and the clever bulletin board idea to keep up your progress. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

