Tattered Spring Blossoms

Hello my dear reader friends. And a big welcome to all my new followers over the past few months. It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve been here, but more about that later. A couple of weeks ago Tim Holtz posted a fun challenge to use one of his most favoutrite sizzix dies, Tattered Florals. It was the first ever Sizzix die I had in my collection and one of my most used. The fact that it can cut so many layers of paper in one pass is a definite bonus when making flowers with multiple petals. So would you like to see what I’ve made for his challenge?

.

Tattered Spring

I’ve been challenged with finding time these past two weeks to do any recreational activity, so I’ve resorted to taking a small box of supplies with me to work and use my breaks to get something done. Where there is a will there is a way! I packed my box with some ready made inked tags from my sample stash, cut a stack of small flowers with the Tattered Florals die from some previously ink sprayed papers and threw in some extra die cuts that I thought would be handy.

.

Tattered Spring a

I made the blossom branch with the Branch Tree die and the leaves are a die cut of ‘daisy’ from Tattered Florals. I ripped the individual petals off the ‘daisy’ and glued them to the branch ends, the layered some pink petals up for the blossoms. To get the look of the branch almost growing right out of the tag I bent and twisted the branch. I was then able to carefully layer the flowers in between the leaves and at interesting angles. I had a couple of spare flat petals which I used in the far background for fill. Love the crinkle effect of the rumpled paper flowers. I glued the branch down onto the tag but I felt it needed something that I didn’t have with me so I had to wait til I got home.

.

Tattered Spring b

The next day I packed my crafty work box with some bird die cuts and the letters to spell out SPRING. My photo is being let down by the permanement blur which is getting progressively worse as the weeks wear on, but you can get the general idea of what he looks like with his colourful wings.

.

Tattered Spring c

And the word was cut from the bird scraps using the Typeset die.

This week I’m also entering this post into the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge which is all about using water. My Twinkling H2O’s are great in my travel box because a quick spritz of water gets them activated and I used them to add splatters to my background. My bird and word were cut from a sample tag using the water flick technique and the background was made using the wrinkle free distress technique. Lots of fun ways to use water when crafting. Hope you like!

***********************************

An update since the last post about the recent floods here. Our crossing to get out of the farm is nearly complete and we no longer have to wade or 4WD across the creek. (Gosh! We’re almost civilized! LOL) But what is keeping me away from hearth and home is all the extra work the floods has created for the likes of me who works with road construction. In the last three weeks I think I’ve only had one day off and I’m sure I slept most of it. The push is on to get the major roads open again for Easter break.

And if I’m lucky enough to get home while the sky is still light I then have another responsibility to a new fellow in my life. Stanley, a 14 week old puppy! He’s at the awkward stage now where a lot of disipline, training and attention is required, but he is such a delight and watching him play is a great way to unwind and be entertained.

So now you know why it’s been a while between posts. Thanks for bearing with me.

Categories: Simon Says Stamp and Show, Tags, The Craft Room, Tim Holtz | Tags: , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Tattered Spring Blossoms

  1. WOW!!! This is so beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Your SPRING tag is absolutely stunning! I am so in love with your blooming tree branch! The pink tattered florals are breathtaking! I love the various shades of pink! I also love the way you placed the florals among the branches. Your die cut bird is also very cleverly done, with all of the different “wings” to look like colorful feathers. The beautiful blue background really pops the branch and flowers. Thanks so much for sharing your art and photos with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. ❤ Candy

  3. So glad to hear from you again, I was wondering what was happening with the floods. The tag is lovely especially the bird’s wings, you always use so many details and pull them together seamlessly! Give Stanley a pet for me

  4. What a beautiful tag!!! Love your water spots…perfectly Spring! The birdie is so cute and great florals! Gorgeous! Thanks for playing along with us in our watered down challenge this week at Simon Says Stamp & Show!!!

  5. Tracey Kuzniak

    WOZERS…this is so BEAUTIFUL…LOVE it! Fabulous project, with so many awesome details to adore! Thanks so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show 🙂

  6. This is the sweetest tag!! I absolutely love the colors and the design!! This one is a winner in my book! Thank you for the inspiration!!

  7. Theresa…huge congrats on winning the $50.00 credit voucher to Simon Says Stamp and Show’s “water” challenge last week! I thought your tag was brilliant and I’m so glad that you shared it with us! Have fun spending your winnings! ❤ Candy

  8. Maura

    Congratulations on your win at SSS. Lovely images of Spring!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

