12 Tags Of 2013 – February

It’s getting close to the end of the month and I still haven’t posted my version of this months tag for 12 Tags of 2013 by Tim Holtz. Eek! I kept a lot of things similar to Tim tag this time around, even to the point of using more black in my work. I think black is starting to grow on me since it’s the second time this month it has had a prominent presence in my work.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Feb a

I started the tag by colouring it very much the same way Tim did with Distress Stains (Barn Door and Fired Brick) and water spritzing. I used  images from Tim Hotlz’s Dance Card rubber stamp set as the man and woman as a couple would be the closest thing I could come up with for a valentine theme.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Feb b

Just as Tim had done, I stamped them out onto water colour paper and with rough brush stokes I coloured them with my Distress Inks. I liked the way the brushstrokes turned out on the man but the woman looked quite dull beside him. Not being too keen to redo her I brainstormed to come up with an idea to improve what I had. Would it surprise anyone that my remedy would involve more stamping? I stamped patterns into her clothes with Tim Holtz Bitty Grunge rubber stamp set, selectively masking off areas to achieve this. I also stamped the dance steps from Dance Card into the background.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Feb d

I had bought some Tim Holtz Kraft Core sheets several months ago and hadn’t used any of it yet, so I go to fish it out to see if I had a colour that would be suitable. I was quite surprised to see I had added a black sheet to my purchases that day. I must have had an idea that black could be a useful colour to have on hand someday, which turned out to be entirely correct. I ran a scrap of it through a Cuttlebug folder and  sanded the raised parts to reveal the Kraft Core. Simon Says Stamp and Show’s challenge this week is to add some metal element to our project, so I die cut some Ranger Foil Tape Sheets with a Cheery Lynn Anastasia border die to add some shine to the tag. As I looked at all the parts of the tag in front of me I was hard pressed to think what else I should add to finish it off. It looked complete as it was so I decided to leave it as it is. No further embellishment was neccessary.

.

12 Tags of 2013 Feb c

And this is what the tag looks like on the Tag Wall. I think we’re in for another colourful year!

Categories: Cherry Lynn Designs, Tags, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013 | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “12 Tags Of 2013 – February

  1. I love your tag wall! What a great idea! I love the dance steps in the background not to mention the stamps themselves. I love what you did her. Nice.

  2. I love the idea of a tag a month. I might do something similar next year. Your tag wall reminds me of even calenders.

  3. Your board is looking better!!! Love this dancing couple! What a fabulous take!

  4. Love her polka dot jacket!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

