I Read It In The Mix

My new job has kept me very busy and away from home a lot more than I’ve been use to, but I managed to put together a page in my art journal to share with you all today.  I started working on my page for this week with Splitcoast Stampers (SCS) Mix Ability in mind, which was to use text and add red. And I combined it with another SCS challenge to use inspiration from Angel At My Table  and I picked out the sign below.

.

Angel At My TableI find this sign particularly significant for me this week as I doing more work which definitely makes me happy, but much less in the craft room. I have certainly appreciated my shorter moments of creativity this week. I doubt I could go a week and not sit at my desk, even if it was just to cut something or ink something.

.

MIX3 a

This is what I eventually came up with.  I started this spread by covering the page with dictionary pages and adhereing them to the page with gesso. It was all going well and I had some loose edges that had not stuck down so I tore them off the page to create some interesting layers and texture, but one of the tears nearly undone everything. I patched the offending rip to repair it and hoped for a good result. I ended up with a patchwork of text that was at times in reverse since I had some sort of tranfer technique happening, words the right way around, some parts with gesso and some parts with out. A real hodge podge that needed some remedy to make it look more appealing. Time to bring in the reds!

.

MIX3 e

I sprayed on some shades of reds of Lindys Stamp Gang Starburst Sprays, some of which went milky pink or stayed more red depending on how it soaked into my papers. Now everything had a rosy hue so I pulled out white acrylic paint to stamp some text back on top. And while I was at it I snuck in some turquoise acrylic paint to stamp a different text image, variety being the spice of life. The photo above shows the (vertical) dictionary page text, the white and turquoise text stamping, and part of the quote I stamped. Words everywhere!

.

MIX3 d

The sign I used for inspiration had some grungy rusty parts so I added my interpretation of that feature with a splatter stamp.  I needed to add more white back into my page so flicked thick drops of paint onto the surface. Adding those spots was some nice messy fun. I even managed to wear a few! Since that made me happy I should do some more of that too I guess.

.

MIX3 b

I paper pieced a few butterflies with various pages of texts from books I use for crafting.

.

MIX3 c

I didn’t know I could get so many layers of text into one flat surface.

.

I reiterate, do more of what makes you happy! And since I got deleriously messy making this page I’ll link it up to Simon Says Stamp and Show this week who are asking for Something Messy.

Categories: Art Journaling, Mix Ability | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Read It In The Mix

  1. Beautiful work! Love the colors and details! Thanks for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show this week! – Ashli 🙂

  2. Love this! The black and white butterflies just pop off the page with this vibrant color! A feast for the eyes! Thank you for playing in our messy challenge this week at Simon Says Stamp & Show!

  3. Wow, this blog has some amazing stuff on it lately that I have been missing! Spread your wings alright – beautiful. Love the photo of Luther as well – lovely couple.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

