Hard to Resist My Art Journal

It’s Not Hard To Resist is the name of the second installment of the new Mix Ability Challenge at Splitcoast Stampers, but now I’ve started my art journal I can’t resist working this challenge into it. I love resist techniques and my two most favourite stamping resists would have to be heat embossing and acrylic paint. I think five out of my last six projects have used either one or the other, or both! I’ve used both techniques on this journal spread.

.

Hard To Resist Art Journal

I started my page by applying a light covering of Pan Pastels, clear embossing some stamped designs around the edge and than applying another layer of Pan Pastels in a different colour. My original intention was to keep working with that idea but the middle of my spead got very messed up. So I gessoed over it and had a rethink about what I needed to do to finish this. Tim Holtz tissue paper seemed like a good cover up so I ripped a piece off, stuck it down and coloured it with Lindy Stamp Gang stains. Ahhh…..yes!

.

Hard To Resist Art Journal a

I love using the Lindy Stamp Gang Starburst Stains. The colours are great and the shimmer factor is amazing. I splashed the stains onto the tissue and spread them around with my fingers. Finger painting is so fun! Then I goofed up again when I went to trim off the excess tissue paper and managed to lift large portions of it off the page. Luckily collaging and art journaling are very forgiving. I decided to try out a pot of Claudine Helmuth Studio Matt Multi-Medium to stick it back together. I’ve had this stuff for months but have never got around to using it. Oh, this stuff is good! Not only does it work well to stick papers together, but I like to use my fingers in when I’m on a roll and this stuff didn’t gum up my skin as much as others do.

.

Hard To Resist Art Journal b

I then stamped some Stampers Anonymous images with a white acrylic paint onto the tissue. When this was thoroughly dry I sponged on some Distress Inks and wiped the excess off of my images to reveal the white again. I stamped a sentiment and called it done.

In other news, I’m starting work with a new company this week. I’ve endured a very lean six months of work and things didn’t look like they were ever going to improve when we received word that a major contract was lost. I fortunately ran into a client from a few years ago and he advised me of the company they were now using to outsource their work and suggested I throw my hat in with them.

.

Luther and Audrey March Out

My son Luther has just completed Basic Training at Kapooka for the Australian Army and did his March Out on 1 Feb 2013. I wasn’t able to go, which upset me greatly. I’ll even admit I completely fell to pieces the day before his big event. I was inconsolable. But on the day my thoughts were all for him and my daughter Audrey who got to share in this proud moment. This is a photo of them together after the parade was over. Audrey surprized me this weekend with a beautiful, large, framed official photo of Luther. You may guess I cried all over again, lol. I’ve been blessed with some wonderful proud mum moments recently.

Life is good!

Categories: About me, Art Journaling, Lindy's Stamp Gang, Mix Ability | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Hard to Resist My Art Journal

  1. Lovely projects. I have been admiring mix media art journals for a while. I am itching to get my hands into it, but for now I need to use up a lot of my paper craft materials before I spend money on more craft goodies. Sorry to hear you could not be there to see your son. I am disabled now and know how difficult it is to miss out on special moments. I am sure he knows how proud you are of him,

  2. What a gorgeous spread! Sorry you couldn’t be there in person but I love the page you made in the meantime and your resist is fab. Beautiful children, too.

  3. Page Robinson

    I love your spread and how you create from the heart. What a beautiful family and I do understand how hard it was not to be there for his celebration of his achievements.

  4. Evelyn

    Hi therese, didn’t take you long to use Tims tissue.
    Great spread.Wow, luther and Audrey look fantastic.
    Looking forward to your next page.hugs Ev.

  5. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your work. I’ve read your entire blog and am very impressed. This is the kind of art that I admire and yearn to do. Thank you for sharing your art with the world. How would I go about following your blog? I subscribe to a lot of blogs, but yours is my absolute favorite. Keep on keeping on, my email is: auntkit@comcast.net. If you can figure out how I can follow your blog. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

