Inspired By Stampin #45

I’ve been participating in some of the Inspired By Stamping Inspiration Challenges lately and a few weeks ago I was lucky enough to win some blog candy and Joanne also asked if I would do a Guest Designer spot for this week. I’ve hosted a few challenges over at Splitcoast Stampers and I’ve participated in a blog hop or two, but to do a guest spot for a challenge blog would be a first for me.  I think I can do this!

.

IBSIC_45

Joanne picks out the main colours of focus and I like to find inspiration in the elements of the photo. Can you see what I see?

.

IBSIC#45 a

I put my attention to the background first,  I saw a horizontal bar at the top, vertical stripes in nuetral tones and red gingham at the bottom. The background is created from stamped impressions made with acrylic paint, moulding paste through a stencil, rubons and shimmer stains and ink. I stamped another horizontal bar to separtate the stripes and the check patterns, and I used one of the stamps I won from the Delicate Doilies II set to do this.

.

IBSIC#45 b

Who could miss that huge red ruffled heart? I made mine by hand cutting layers of dressmakers tissue in nesting sizes. These were stamped with the same check pattern I used on the background and spritzed so the ink would wick out and colour the rest of the paper. I used that stamp so I could create the look of more light and dark patches without the extra ruffling of the actual paper.  I then decided I’d like to frame my heart . It may surprize fellow stampers that I own very little in the way of heart shaped things. As I was wracking my brain thnking of how I would frame my heart I had a look thru my stamp sets and found a very old Stampin’ Up set. This was never sold here in Australia since it was before their time here and I purchased it second hand from a seller in the US. It’s one of those stamp sets I had to have, don’t want to part with, but have never used. When I saw the paper heart I had made nestled perfectly inside the image I was delighted!

.IBSIC#45 c

The other element I picked out from the inspiration photo was the square picture frame. While I was searching for a heart stamp I came across my nearly forgotten Just Rite stamps. I think these are all retired too. But in that collection I have this square ornate slide frame which fit the bill nicely for what I wanted to achieve. The rub on word and heart fit perfectly with the frame.

I just love stamping and to make my tag with so many, using a variety of techniques make me very happy indeed. Thank you Joanne for the opportunity to be part of your design team this week. And readers, I hope you join in with us this week for Challenge #45. Pop on over to the blog to see what the other team members have created.

 

Categories: Inspired By Stamping | Tags: , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Inspired By Stampin #45

  1. Pingback: IBSIC #45 « IBS Inspiration Challenge

  2. Grace Tolman

    what a beautiful tag. Thank you for playing along with us at the IBSIC challenge this week.

  3. Thank you so much Theresa for being our guest designer this week! Your tag is so beautiful! Thank you so much! Hugs, Joanna

  4. What a pretty tag! Congrats on being GD.

    ps – LOVE the blinkie for the new SCS Challenge Mix Ability! I had so much fun playing in that new challenge!

  5. Stunning tag!

  6. What a gorgeous 3D heart, and the pink tile pattern is too cool…you totally nailed this inspiration!

  7. Gorgeous tag!!! I love how the heart came out!! Beautiful!!! ~Sophia

  8. You really do the most lovely tags! And this one is no exception, just stunning!

  9. I see you put a lot of thought into this tag. It’s fabulous. I love your frames.

  10. Congrats on being the Guest Designer Theresa, your tag is gorgeous, I so love that heart.

  11. Very pretty tag, your heart is beautiful.Congrats on being Guest Designer.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

