Inspired To Start My Moleskine Art Journal

The responce to the first Mixed Media challenge at Splitcoast stampers has been amazing. As I looked thru the challenge gallery I was so inspired by the work uploaded. But what has inspired me the most is the ones who have claimed this was their first foray into the world of mixed media and are jumping on board to try their hand at it.

I attempted to get into art journaling about 18 months ago thru an online course and made a couple of loose leaf pages. I quite liked playing with my art supplies to make journal pages, so I invested in a Moleskine Art Journal book to work in. And thats as far as I went with that. That poor Moleskine never got used, and it bothered me – a lot.  But that all changed last night as I was looking thru the Splitcoast Stampers Mix Media Gallery. It was time to pull that baby out of the dark recesses of my craftroom.

.

YinYang Art Journal

My first art journal page in my Moleskine! I followed along with the Mix Ability Challenge, Yin Yang, to use matte and shiny mediums, and I combined it with Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge, Seeing Stars. Since this was my first page I just wanted to get something down on the surface and make a start. I’ve been watching Donna Downey do her Inspiration Wednesday and Collage Monday pages for months now , and watching her work has taught me a lot about just moving on with the creative process and just plain old getting it done and down on the page. So, armed with my challenges I set to work to make an Art Journal page.

Here is what I used-

Matte

  • Gesso
  • Mouldling Paste
  • Coloured pencils
  • Pan Pastels
  • Acrylic paint
  • Ink pads

Shiny

  • Shimmer stains
  • Glitter Embossing powder

You want to know what I really like about this Art Journalling. The curled up pages. True!! Now I have over come the first hurdle of inking up the first page, starting the next page should be a cinch. Right?

Categories: Art Journaling, Mix Ability, Simon Says Stamp and Show, Splitcoast Stampers | Tags: | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Inspired To Start My Moleskine Art Journal

  1. Moleskin….that’s a base I’ve never used…sounds fun! I love the look! It’s soft and suede looking! The stars here add so much! Love the writing at the bottom as well. An awesome start to this new journal! Kudos! Thank you so much for showing us your stars at Simon Says Stamp & Show this week!

  2. Minnesota Meg

    This page is beautiful and I love that you have jumped into the journal now. I too signed up for a mixed media course, mine started in January. I finally made it a priority to buy the supplies last weekend and today just *might* be the day I start. I love the splitcoast challenge thread that just started for mixed media. If I can ever figure out how to upload photos to splitcoast, I will join in the fun.
    Thanks for sharing your fun journal page.

  3. Good for you…just get it done! That is THE hardest step…to just TRY it! I have the same issue. 🙂 Your first art journal pages are beautiful! I love the soft colors. I love the stenciling you’ve done. The stars look amazing…both the smaller ones that seem to be more “melted” into the moleskin and the larger yellow ones that appear to be raised. Your sentiment also works so well with your design. Thanks so much for sharing your art with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show! Keep the art journal going!!! ❤ Candy

  4. Wonderful page! The stars and the background are stunning. Thank you for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

  5. Such a gorgeous spread!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

