I’ve Been Known To Sew

Simon Says Stamp asked us to think about what we are known for and use that as inspiration for our creation this week. I assume, like many others I’m multi faceted and I’m known for different things to different people. So I phoned a friend, and she pondered on my creative style and picked the words – colourful, imaginative and inky.

Then I got to thinking about what my readers might not know about me. Long before I ever got crafty with paper and ink I use to get creative with fabric and thread. I’d sew my own clothes, my partners clothes, the childrens clothes and I even gifted clothes. But not only clothes did I sew, also cloth dolls, patchwork, quilting, crossstitch and embroidery. I framed my significant pieces and my mother owns two special ones I made which hang on her wall and get a lot of admiration from guests. My sister-in-law has a couple of hand crafted cloth dolls I made and she tells me after all these years they still get a lot of attention.

And one more thing. I collect doileys. Lots of pretty hand crocheted and hand embroidered fancy worked doileys. I have an old suitcase full of them. I like collecting ones with unusual motifs like the ones I bought just last week of floral umberellas, and the ones in the shape of a wicker basket. About this time last year I was doing my own personal inspiration challenges based on my embroidered doileys.

This week I thought it’d be fun  to combine two challenges into one tag. Simon asks ‘What are you known for?‘………

.

ibsic_43_thumb

…….and Inspired By Stamping has this colour inspired challenge. So, armed with colours white, saffron and pink, a style of colourful, inky and imaginative, and a theme of sewing and doileys, I was set to go.

.

Inspired By Stamping #43

I inked up a manilla tag with yellows and pink tones using shimmer stains and Distress Inks. I stamped and heat embossed the dress form (Stampers Anonymous) in white. And then I hit a wee obstacle – a power outage from the storm we are having today. That meant what ever I did from here on in had to be done without the assistance of electricity, and around here that also meant the water was off since we require a pump to get water to the taps. I opted to continue stamping my background in white acrylic paint. I almost had to give that plan a miss on account of no running taps, but then I realized I had abundant water over running our gutters, lol. Clean up was a cinch. I have some doileys stamped into the background using the stamps I won a few weeks ago from Inspired By Stamping. These are clear stamps and I really like how these stamped up with the acrylic paint. Some doileys were also stamped with ink.

.

Inspired By Stamping #43 b

I had a couple of days to think about this challenge, so I was fortunate to have made a paper flower for this tag the day before. The large pink bloom was cut from layers of dressmakers tissue paper using my Rose Creation dies (Spellbinders), and then sprayed with shimmer stains before heat drying. I really liked the look of those ruffled tissue paper balls hanging from the ceiling in the photo and I wanted my flowers to have  a similar look. The little carnation mulberry paper flower (also from the  Inspired By Stamping store) was an easy choise. The yellow ones I made by stacking and ruffling single prima petals, secured with a brad. An online friend gifted me some lovely dies cut swirls and leaves which I had to find a way of using here. The green leafy swirl was one of those die cuts, and I snipped apart to tuck into some of the blank spots. The white die cut was of course perfect for this challenge since I’m so obviously white challenged. A stamped advert, a couple of decorative pins and some old lace trim finish it all off.

As mentioned earlier, we are in the midst of a storm which is due to a cyclone nearby. All my photos are daylight pics taken outside on the verandah so you may imagine the challenge I had to get a photo today. A brief lull in the rain gave me an opportunity to grab a couple of quick, but ordinary, snaps.  Oh! The humidity too. All my paper is so limp from all the moisture in the air. I was really worried that all my flowers would fall off as I didn’t have time for the glue to really set properly, lol. Thankfully our power was restored just before dark so I could do this post.

To all my readers who were with me during the last bad storm I experienced, this is one is not likely to be in that same magnitude for us, but others have not fared so well. We have had rain for three solid days, and more on the way.  All of the dams and water tanks are full to overflowing. This morning we parked one of the vehicles on the town side of the creek as a precaution. This afternoon we went down to check the crossing and sure enough part of the road is gone. So we’ll only be stuck here until such time as the creek subsides enough to wade across it and we can get to the vehicle. Otherwise we’re all safe and sound.

I’ve got some fun news to share on my Saturday, or if you’re from the States, your Friday. Hope you come back then to see what I’ve been up to.

Cheers!

Categories: About me, Inspired By Stamping, Simon Says Stamp and Show, Spellbinders | Tags: , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “I’ve Been Known To Sew

  1. Such a gorgeous vintage tag! Hope all is well with you!

  2. stampersuzz

    Beautiful tag! Love your embossed dress frame and the background colors are gorgeous. Lovely embellishments and design! Glad you joined us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

  3. You do the most divine tags and this one is no exception! Beautiful work here!

  4. Bede and Trish Watts

    Have been watching the news to-day. Stay safe. Yes, I remember your postings at the time of the horrendous happenings in your area a couple of years back. Scary! (I’m writing from Perth) Trish

    Date: Sun, 27 Jan 2013 13:05:30 +0000 To: bedetrish@hotmail.com

  5. Stunning! Love the white embossed dress form. 🙂 Thank you for playing with us at IBS this week!

  6. What a stunning tag! Beautifully inspired

  7. WOW, what a stunning tag, love all the details you’ve put into it! So inspiring!! Beautiful job! Thanks for joining us at Inspired By Stamping Inspirational Challenge!!

  8. Joanna M.

    WOW! Gorgeous tag! So pretty! Thank you for joining us this week. I appreciate your support so much! Hugs, J

  9. And you are good at it! Fabulous at colorizing too! GORGEOUS TAG!!! Pinning!

  10. Ooh la la this tag is just devine, love the cluster of flowers and leaves with that lace.

    Thanks so much for taking the time to join us at IBSIC and sharing your work!

    Liz Weber
    Inspired By Stamping Design Team

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

