Inspired By Stamping #42

Hello friends! This week I’ve been sorely challenged to get anything finished in the craftroom. I’m sure you can all relate to that statement. I’ve picked up some extra work and our ducks have hatched two nests of ducklings so I’ve had my hands full. But as always I found time to make something.

.

ibsic_42_thumb

I’ve had THIS challenge on my mind all week and was determined to make something of it. I liked the strong contrast in colour and shapes in this photo. I started out trying to make a respesentation of the  flower and using  white cardstock for a base of a tag. The more I tried to work with that idea the less I liked it so eventually I pushed it aside. I started afresh with green and blue inks and white paint. There was no getting out of it – I was going to get down and dirty with it. And I have the stained fingers to prove it, lol.

.

Inspired By Stamping #42 a

I still liked the idea of using a lot of white so I tried to keep that thought as I went about making the tag. I stamped several images with white acrylic paint to soften and reduce the amount of blues and greens showing. Some of the paint stamping was deliberately smudged and inked over to add to the distressed and layered look I was trying to achieve.

.

Inspired By Stamping #42 b

This weeks Technique Challenge at Splitcaost stampers got me to thinking about adding more white goodness with die cuts. I almost forgot I had some white glitter paper that was gifted to me this past Christmas and this turned out to be a wonderful contrast of texture to the other white areas on the tag. My little white buds from Cottage Cutz, the Fleur de Lis border by Spellbinders and a punched out petal for my flowers were all cut from the glitter paper. I managed to keep most of my flower parts from the first attempt at this challenge, especially Cheery Lynn cuts for the base layer. And please give me a round of applause from showing great restaint at NOT applying even the tiniest bit of inking to the edges of these.

.

Inspired By Stamping #42 c

I stamped up a vintage florist advertisment to cover up a glareing flaw. Of coure you would never have known that if I’d not let that cat out of the bag, would you? Goof ups are my best friend. Love the way this finishes the tag off nicely.

In other news, I’m going to try out something creatively new for me, and hopefully a lot of fun, this weekend. I need to apply myself to being properly organized for it, starting tomorrow. If it’s half as successful as I imagine it will be in my over active imagination I’ll let you all know how it goes. Otherwise we’ll pretend I never mentioned it. *wink*.

have a great week

Categories: Cherry Lynn Designs, Cottage Cutz, Inspired By Stamping, Spellbinders | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Inspired By Stamping #42

  1. Stunning…accidental or deliberate…It is beautiful!!
    Thanks for joining us at IBSIC.

    Calypso

  2. This might be my favorite tag ever…love the colors!

  3. Gorgeous tag Theresa, I love those sweet flowers and the diecut edge looks gorgeous. Fab job making the colours look so soft and pretty.

    Thanks so much for taking the time to join us at IBSIC again!

    Liz Weber
    Inspired By Stamping Design Team

  4. Beautiful Theresa! So glad that you had time to create with us this week! You create the most fabulous tags! Hugs, Joanna

  5. Beautiful! I love the background and florals!

  6. absolutely gorgeous

  7. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a fantastic represent of flowers like on your tag. Amazing! (And I don’t think I have ever seen those flowers before either, swooning.)

  8. Pingback: Navy Blue Wedding? - Mother of the Bride

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

