Inspired By Stamping #41

Last week I was very happy to find out I was selected as overall winner for the Inspired By Stamping Inspiration Challenge #40, and also the blog candy winner. A double win!! Joanne, the challenge hostess, always find nice photos for our inspiration. This week is no exception.

.

ibsic-_41_thumb

In Challenge #41 we are working with another soft palette with a very feminine influence.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 a

I’m pleased with how this turned out, bearing in mind my restaint from wanting to apply more colour and deeper tones. I’ve done a step through of my process showing how this tag came together, so read on if  you have an interest in seeing how I create with paper, ink and rubber stamps.

*******************************

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 e

First I went to my altered tag stash to find something that might interest me there. I found this one with molding paste applied through a stencil, ready to be inked. The stripes at the top refected the louvered doors in the photo, in my mind at least.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 f

I splash on some Lindy’s Stamp Gang Starburst colours and rub in with my fingers. A quick spritz with water to blend the colours helps too. Love how this turned out.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 g

I go to my stash of diecuts and find this doiley cut by Cheery Lynn Designs. I have an idea to back it with a brown layer, so I cut one out with some Spellbinder dies.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 h

I grab another tag from my stash to cut this Cheery Lynn Designs Vine. It doesn’t quite fit but I can work wiht that. I often tear the vines into pieces anyway.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 i

I cut extra pieces out of the waste. What I don’t use today will get used on another day. Having premade elements ready to go is very handy.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 j

Now I layer my elements I’ve collected so far and ponder how it is all coming together. Um…… I’m not loving it. This is where I think adding deeper colours will help. I try it. Still don’t like it. I’m determined to keep what I already have, I just need to rethink about how I’ll use it. I’m also thinking I like all those ruffles in the inspiration photo.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 k

I’ve already glued the doiley diecut to the backing circle so I carefully remove it. Some of it gets torn, but with what I have in mind it won’t matter. I cut the doiley in half and concertina fold the half circle. I made the second one for demo purposes so you could see what I did. I glue down the shorter edge in a straight line to achieve a ruffled effect.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 l

From the outset of making this tag I pulled out my Graphic 45 ‘A Lady’s Diary’ paper line as it had colours to match this challenge. I cut away the print of the hand written paper from one of the corners where it was printed, and I made use of it’s odd shape in my design. I layered another piece by cutting out another printed letter. I now also have a theme to work with – Letter writing!

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 m

Did you all think I knew where I was going with this from the start? HA!! Now it’s time to look at what I’ve got and how it’s looking. I even flip my vines over to see what the other side looks like. Since I work with wet media a lot of the time, and I’m generally a messy crafter, the backs of nearly everything get stained up pretty well too. But that for me is a bonus.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 n

I need some pretty soft pink flowers. You can barely see from this photo, but I have stamped a screen pattern onto my cardstock so I wouldn’t have a flat colour. I used an Impression Obsession Cover-A-Card called, appropriately, Screen. I cut some petals with more Cheery Lynn Designs dies, and shaped and stacked them to make my blooms.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 o

While I was making the blooms I remembered I had this long forgotten stamp of a fountain pen. I gold embossed two of them onto the scraps of my diecutting. (By the way, you can notice the screen stamping much better here.) I cut both out, taking one and rolling the sides over a skewer to get a rounded shape like a real pen. I filled the hollow cavity with hot glue and layered on top of the other cut out.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 a

I assemble all my pieces onto my tag, adding some more little accents as I go.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 b

I have a few printed images of postage stamps and I thought this one from Kaisercraft worked well in this instance.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 c

The fountain pen image is a Stamp Fransciso stamp that been part of my collection almost from the very beginning of my stamping hobby. Love how this turned out! Some golden brown rhinstones add some sparkle.

.

Inspired By Stamping #41 d

One of the first things I noticed in the inspiration photo was the sawtooth lace edging on one of the shelves. I had a piece of lace that mimicked that design and I wanted to find a way to add it to this tag. I tea dyed it and used it as a topper for my paper ruffle.

If you have any questions about something I have done don’t hesitate to ask. And thank you for all the feed back I’ve had that these posts are helpful, useful or interesting enough as you watch someone else play.

..

Categories: Cherry Lynn Designs, Impression Obseesion, Inspired By Stamping, Lindy's Stamp Gang, Step Thru, Tags | Tags: , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Inspired By Stamping #41

  1. Congrats on last week’s win, very well deserved. Another stunning tags, the way you layer is amazing. Gorgeous !!!! Thanks for joining us this week at IBSIC. Deb x

  2. I can think of one word – WOW! Thank you for showing the tutorials too! I am SO inspired with your art over the years. You are a lovely lovely person … I know … and a FABULOUSLY TALENTED artist.

  3. Wow, this tag is stunning. I love all the fantastic details.

  4. Really love the way you incorporated texture!

  5. I think you are the Queen of tags. Last week’s was awesome and this one is stunning too!

  6. Wow Theresa that is one of the prettiest tags I have ever seen, love the flowers, the swirls and the gorgeous shabby chic feel to your tag.

    So glad you could share your work with us at IBSIC!

  7. Wow this is amazing! I just pinned this on Pinterest! Wow! Just gorgeous! Thank you so much for creating with us this week again at IBSIC! Hugs, Joanna

  8. How beautiful! Love all your layers and the patience to use the four different stencils with paste…. the texture is amazing.

  9. Thanks again for the step by step, I do enjoy seeing an artistic mind at work! The tag is absolutely gorgeous

  10. Love all your steps and your tag is gorgeous!!! Fab texture!

  11. Stunning tag!!! The colors are gorgeous. I love the layers and embossing. ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

