Embrace The Old

That’s is the name of this weeks challenge over at Simon Says Stamp and Show. This week I thought I’d not get the challenge done due to the heat wave we are having here in Australia just now, and working two paying jobs I’m committed too. Can I just say, hot , hot , HOT!!! I live and work without air cons too. It’s weeks like this you just have to do what you can to keep yourself, and the animals, in good condition so you can get thru the next day. But I am one of the lucky ones as we are not threatened with bushfires where I live. In fact we had a glorious downpour of rain during one night mid-week, but that in turn turned to extreme humidity for the following days. You may well imagine that my down time was not very productive. Anyways, enough of the weather talk. Lets talk about creating with old things.

.

Embrace The Old a

For my tag this week I went to some of the oldest stamps I own and one of my oldest pianting mediums. I also used a more current collection of vintage looking die cut embellishments. But the oldest thing on this tag would have to be the lace trim. I bought that back in the time when sewing use to be my creative outlet, and I’m thinking I most likely bought that 15 years ago from a flea market.

.

Embrace The Old b

I stamped my flourish with a stamp from Tuscan Rose. I did a google search for them but it seems they no longer produce rubber stamps. When I did a recent purge I couldn’t let these go as not only are the images great but the rubber is good quality too. I began my foray into stamping late 2006 and these were the start of my rubber collection. The other item that was saved from the purge was my small collection of Twinkling H2O’s which I used here to stamp my image. Of course while I had these items out I pulled some tags from my stash and stamped some of them up to use for another day. The girl is stamped from an old Paper Artsy set I’ve saddly not used very much. Another google search reveals that it is from the Ink and Dog Paper Artsy Collection.

.

Embrace The Old c

I initially dyed the lace with Antique Linen Distress Stain, wasn’t too fussed on it, so I sponged on some Pine Needles Distress Ink. The trim is originally designed for threading ribbon through but I didn’t want to do that, so I just folded the top edge over to cover up the eyelets. I have some really cool printed diecuts from Kaisercraft’s Timeless Collection. I bought these after I did my craftroom purge and after some careful concideration decided that I would get a lot of use from these embellishments. Here I’ve used five die cuts to make this mini collage of keepsakes.

That’s all I could muster for this week.  Hoping for some relief in the weather conditions soon. In the meantime I’ll just plod along with my next piece and maybe I’ll have someting new to show soon. Take care everyone.

.

Categories: Simon Says Stamp and Show | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Embrace The Old

  1. Totally gorgeous!!! Love the color…vintage beauty! Great old images too!

  2. What a lovely striking tag , the colour palette is particularly eye catching . Love the image combined with your vintage lace. Beautiful. Thanks so much for,joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Tracy x

  3. a beautiful tag with wonderful colours and great depth. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing with Simon Says Stamp & Show! Sarah.

  4. gorgeous. NO AC??? good grief

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

