Inspired To Stamp #40

I’ve really enjoyed these past few weeks of crafting and blogging. And it would seem that readers are also liking what they see when they come here too. Thanks for the feedback and comments everyone. I’ve also found some wonderful opportunitites to lose myself in my creative space over the holiday period.

ibsic_40_thumb

This week I revisited a new-to-me challenge blog, Inspired by Stamping, and this week they are asking us to create something with colours inspired by this photograph. But I was also very much taken with the overall compositon of the image and used that as inspiration too.

.

Inspired By Stamping #40 a

I just had to recreate the scene of the blue bird sitting on the post. This was a fun little tag to make with bits and pieces gathered from all over my room.  I started with some Core-Dination cardstock in pastel shades of purple and green, for my tag base. I covered the joining seam with a piece of ribbon given to me as Secret Santa gift. When you consider I don’t use ribbon much I found it very handy to have in this instance as the join looked positively ugly ’til I covered it up.

.

Inspired By Stamping #40 b

My bird and post are made from the same inked up tag, a reject from stamping session that wasn’t working out for me. Would you believe the tag was stamped all over in snowflake images? I liked the colours of it and knew by the time I was finished with it you’d not notice the snowflakes anyway.

.

Inspired By Stamping #40 c

For my flora I used a combo of stamped images and die cuts. The stamped flowers are from an old Stampin’ Up! (SU!) hostess set Echoes of Kindness. I stamped a leaf image from SU!’s French Foliage onto the Spellbinder leaf die cuts for some added pattern and texture.  I found two little paper flowers I’d made with the Spellbinders Carnation Creation dies nearly two years ago that fitted in just right with their colouring. All together a real mish mash of papercraft and stamping that somehow looks happy next to each other.

I’d also like to say thanks to Kim from Inspiration Avenue for selecting a tag I had posted several months ago to use as part of their inspiration this week. The challenge she set was to make a tag, any tag. With a challenge like that I’ll have to join in too!

Categories: Tags | Tags: , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Inspired To Stamp #40

  1. Beautiful tag!! Just LOVE your re-creation of the photo, such a lovely design!! Thank you very much for sharing your work with us at IBSIC!

  2. Such a beautiful tag ~ I love the way you have recreated the photo. The colors remind me of Spring! Thanks for joining us at Inspiration Avenue this week!
    Maggie

  3. Betsy Schlossman

    fantastic! I will try to duplicate this…I am just getting interested in tags and think they are so neat! Date: Sun, 6 Jan 2013 11:16:45 +0000 To: byost9@msn.com

  4. Absolutely stunning, love the bird image and all the fussy cutting looks amazing. Thanks for joining us at IBSIC. Deb x

  5. Magical and perfect! You nailed this scene! AMAZING!!!! Pinning!

  6. Lou Anne

    This is lovely! Very inspiring for me, since I’m new at tags. Thank you.

  7. Jan Reddaway

    Ooh, I love that Theresa. Well done, you captured the colours beautifully.

  8. Trish

    Beautiful! I look fwd. to all your tags. You’re such a clever chookie 🙂

  9. This is a gorgeous tag! It’s the photo, in theme and colors, exactly. Beautiful work!

  10. What a pretty collage tag, Theresa! I just want to reach out and touch it, it has such a 3D quality to it. SO glad you discovered us at Inspired By Stamping. 🙂

    Thank you for playing with us this week at IBS, and Happy New Year!

  11. WOW gorgeous tag. I came to your site through Pinterest and all your tags are stunning! WOW, WOW and WOW. I can’t wait to see more.

  12. AMAZING. GORGEOUS. Yummy texture and tantalizing colors. LOVE it, Theresa. Girlfriend, you do know how to inspire!!!

  13. Gorgeous creation Theresa, love that post, love the bird and the flowers are amazing.

    Thanks so much for sharing your work with us at IBSIC again!

  14. Evelyn

    Hi Theresa, just gorgeous as usall can’t wait to see it in real life.You never stop amazing us with your colours etc. Hugs Ev.x

  15. Beautiful tag Theresa, I love all the fabulous details. Thank you for stopping by my blog :).

  16. Love the textures and depth you created!

  17. Beautiful work Theresa, the tag is stunning!

  18. Fabulous dimension and sweet details! Perfect take on the challenge…love it!!!

  19. Theresa your work is just beautiful. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog and left a comments so I could come visit your blog too! I have thoroughly enjoyed each of your projects and signed up for an e-mail subscription so I don’t miss a thing!

  20. I absolutely LOVE your pretty tag — so much so that I cased it yesterday!
    http://estherscardcreations.blogspot.com/2013/02/bird-tag.html

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

