12 tags of 2013 – January

Tim Holtz’ 12 Tags of 2013 has kicked off. I saw the first tag he made for the year, read his creative process, relooked at the tag ….and had no idea what to do. In between working on some other crafty projects I’d revisit his post. Still nothing. Oh dear! I figured since this is suppose to be my enjoyable pasttime I’d continue working on my other endeavours. Sure enough, as soon as I let my expectations go I started to see other possibilites.

.

12Ttags of 2013 Jan a

First thing I let go of was the colour theme. Here in Australia it’s high summer and we are having extreme hot weather. I’m not in the mood for browns. I need fresh colours today. I don’t possess any of the gadgetry images that Tim used for his tag, so I stuck with the techniques, in a round about fashion. In my tag stash was a sample from my Creative Chemistry 101 Online Class with brightly sponged on colour and water flicks all over it.

.

12Ttags of 2013 Jan b

These blue twigs were cut with my Eclips using Stamp2Cut when making my last tag. I figured they’d get put to good use one day, I just didn’t expect that day to be so soon. Looking thru my collection of embossing folders, I found bird in the grass design and knew it’d be a perfect backdrop for my twigs.  I highlighted the raised areas with ink and my blending tool. I don’t possess any metallic paints or stains, so I settled for shimmer on the twigs for my shine factor.

.

12Ttags of 2013 Jan c

I liked Tim’s use of sentiment panel. It was large, taking up nearly one third of the tag surface. I wanted someting large and prominent too. This is a great quote and the dimensions were just what I needed. I have a collection of large patterned and textured stamps, called Cover -A Card, which I use often on my projects. I don’t mention them half as much as I use them. They are my little work horses that often go unnoticed. I used Courduroy pattern here to create a background texture for the sentiment. And one last nod to the inspiration that is Tim – I used some brads. Hey, they’re the only metal embellishments I have., lol.  I even got the hammer out and smashed them up a bit.

,

12Ttags of 2013 Jan d

Ta da! First tag wall photo of the year. Last year when I saw my first tag on the board I was keen to get all the spaces filled. Now I look at it and feel a sense of possibilities and wonder at what may lie ahead. It’s like a fresh new beginning with a clean slate.

Simon Says Stamp and Show is having a Totally Mad (No Rules) Tea Party to start off the New Year of challenges. Hey! I’m having my own Tea Party every time I sit down at my crafting desk. Every day! I love it!

Categories: Impression Obseesion, Stamp2Cut, Tags, Tim Holtz 12 Tgas of 2013 | Tags: , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “12 tags of 2013 – January

  1. Oh, I’m delighted you are doing this again! This one is so vibrant…just makes me happy to look at it. I think I may have to have a go at this one. LOVELY colours!

  2. Love your tag and can’t believe someone else has a tag board like me! Lol

  3. It’s positively gorgeous! I never even clued in that you were from Australia. All the winter projects we’ve been showing from the other side of the world must be almost comical…lol! That is why I really love blogging. I’ve met people I would other wise never have the chance to. Love your background!!! Fab make! Happy new year to you!

  4. So beautiful! I love the vibrant colors! The birdcall is one of my favorite folders and it looks gorgeous with the florals.

  5. Fabulous tag. It really caught my eye the gorgeous bright colours whilst browsing blog land. Thanks for sharing this x

  6. Fantastic tag! I like it a lot. What a great colours.
    And the Idea to put the tags on a board is so great.

  7. Oh I love how vibrant this tag is! It truly warms the soul! The background is so pretty as well! Great idea framing the tags! Fun way to start the NY! I just finished my tag! Have a great evening!

  8. Beautiful tag – could really do with some sunshine here in the UK. Your 2012 tags are adorable too, love all your colours. Thanks for visiting my post. BJ

  9. Wow and wow again! What a beauty this is – LOVE the blue twigs – exquisitely cut and the color is just sensational. That bird/grass texture fade is perfect – what an amazing kick off for the 2013 tags you have created!

    Thanks so much for the nice comment you left on my blog! I do hope you will play along with our Frilly and Funkie challenges when we get started for this year!

    All the best,
    Linda

  10. This is a beautiful tag! I love the water spots! And that you can see them-Mine sort of got covered up but I will use that technique again for sure 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog! Also, I love the board you put up to show all of the tags. Very cool! 🙂

  11. What a fabulous tag. I really love your colors…just what we need in the wintery US.

  12. Thank you for sharing your fabulous colored tag love the background it is just fabulous and the colours just great Thanksss for sharing with the DT from SSSS Hugs Terry xxxx

  13. WOW!!!! What a wonderfull colours you’ve used, love them.

  14. Trudi

    Loving your first tag for 2013 – the colours are sensational. Looking forward to seeing your board fill up over the coming months.

  15. Your tag has such wonderful depth of color! I’ve never thought a second to try out a year long challenge, but after reading about your first tag of 2013, it sounds like a wonderful journey! I’m still thinking about it. 🙂

  16. lindass1

    So wonderful and full of springfeeling… And loved your idea of hanging them all up.. maybe I should steal that one.. 😀

  17. Wow! The dimension, the vibrant color, the embossing folder, the eclipse stamp2cut…all of it is just beautiful! I don’t have the stamp2cut system, but based on your project, I may have to change my mind on that!

  18. Beautiful tag!!! The colors are gorgeous!!! ~Sophia

  19. Love this tag, the colors are so warm and cheerful and I really like how you layered the twigs behind and in front of the greeting

  20. Jacqui

    Thsi is beautiful

  21. Ellen Schmidt

    I love your use of color. Your tag is beautiful!

  22. Tracey

    gorgeous, gorgeous tag and fab idea with the pin board – think i’ll play along as you do. you’ve inspired me! TFS.

  23. This is a beautiful tag hun, I love how vibrant the colours are! Also thank you so much for popping by and commenting on my blog, it was very kind of you 🙂 xxx

  24. So gorgeous, bright and cheerful! It made me smile!

  25. VEry beautiful tag!!! I love the colors, brilliant!!!!! BArbarayaya

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

