Reflections On Holly

Through out the year I’ve been plodding along with Tim Holtz’s 12 tags of 2012 and sharing them here on this blog. Then I had a idea a few weeks back to recreate the 12 tags as Christmas tags to decorate my tree this year. Under normal circumstances I could have achieved this feat of craftiness, had not a series of time hungry events landed in my lap. I don’t even have my tree up yet! To my credit I did remake six of them, including this one which I’m entering into this weeks Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge.

.

Reflections On Holly 3

This week we needed to use one of Tim’s tags as inspiration, and I went with his April 2012 technique on this one. It involved stamping a design onto the surface of an embossing folder, so when you embossed your card stock the image would transfer to the background. When doing this technique the image stamped onto the folder will come out reversed, but I used one of Tims reversed text stamps, so the text would come out looking right. Clever eh? It’s a case of two negatives make a positive.

.

Reflections On Holly 2

I chose a pale colour to stamp my text so it would fade into the background more. The little robin snippet came from my ever useful, but diminishing, Crafty Secrets stash. I’ve had the Holly Branch embossing folder for a while now, but was never happy with using it successfully. Now I’ve fallen in love with it when combined with this inky technique. And I found a little trick to ink those pesky liitle berries red without getting red ink all over the place – punch a small circle from a scrap to make a stencil, and sponge the berries thru the hole. Quick and easy.

.

ibsictop3winnerbadge

But before I race off I have two snippets of acknowledgment I need to share with you all. My tag in my last post was selected as a ‘top three winner’ for the Inspired By Stamping challenge. I’m still trying to figure out how to add the blinky badge to my side bar so I can show off that I won something! It was a first time in my blogging and participating in challenges that this has happened to me. In the meantime just imagine that pretty badge in my side bar, lol.

My other snippet? Well I didn’t win anything per se, but it is a pretty big deal in my small world of stamping. I discovered that Tim Holtz, the very man himself, has added my November tag to his Pinterest board. Seriously! My tag! There it sits prettily amongst all those other really talented designer creations. My tag! I think you may just image the grin I had on my face. Now I need to get cracking on getting my last tags made for my ‘real’ 12 Tags of 2012 display board. Be sure to check back to see how it looks when it’s all completed.

Categories: Simon Says Stamp and Show, Tags, Tim Holtz | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Reflections On Holly

  1. What a beauty! Love love love the stripes! The holly is colored perfectly and pops against that bright background! Perfectly festive here! Hope things clear up and get you ready for Christmas mischief!

  2. Evelyn Poole

    Absolutley gorgeous Theresa.Your little stencil trick is something you shared with me some time ago, you are amazing.Hope you get your tree up soon with all your beautiful Tags adorning it.Hugs ev.

  3. Love the subtle texture of the text in the background – what a lovely tag! And congratulations on getting pinned… it happened to me and I was bouncing off the walls for days!! Thanks for your visit over at Words and Pictures – much appreciated.
    Alison x

  4. stampersuzz

    Love the pop of color on this tag! Beautiful contrasts between the yellows and reds. Love the bird image popped up in the center too! Congrats on your win and Tim shout out on Pinterest. Sweet tag! Glad you joined us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

  5. This is absolutely gorgeous!! What a beautiful tag!! I love the colors!! And congrats on getting your November tag pinned by Tim!! That’s so awesome!! Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

