Whats In My Sketchy Head.

Today I’m going to try someting different with this post in responce to some readers wondering how I go about making what I do. It’s not really a how-to. It’s about what I have in my craftspace to pick and choose from, and how I work my way thru to get a finished creation.  I almost always get a kickstart with a challenge of some sort posted on the net. For todays inspiration I’m going to use a sketch challenge as my launch point and it’ll have a Christmas theme since it’s that wonderful time of the year. At this point I have no preconceived idea about how this might end up looking. Lets see what happens.

.

I chose this Sketch Challenge to work with from Inspired By Stamping Inspiration Challenge. From the outset I’ve already eliminated the idea of using ribbons and brads since those items rarely make their way into my work.

.

Next I select a tag from my ready made stash.

.

Add some texture to corresponding corners as depicted in the sketch.

.

Hmm, noticed I have this embossing folder but have never used it. It has the makings of an oval element in the design.

.

I make a few samples with it and make selection of these three elements to use for the tag.

.

Check out all those glittery Christmas sentiments. I have a stash of these ready made. Stamped and then cut with Stamp2Cut on the Sizzix Eclips. I think I’ll go with ‘Wishes’ today.

.

Tag starting to take shape and I’m liking it.

.

I think the banner and the rub-on strip would work for the vertical ribbon element. Maybe?

.

Or maybe not? I think that sentiment looks great on that banner.

.

So how are we looking now? I like the extra cream with the banner. I need to add some more.

.

Back to the premade tag stash for something pale. Tear it up and tear it down, and slip behind the embossed panel. Ditch the inner circle. Don’t need the rub-ons either.

.

Sketch? What sketch? Oh that one! I’ve got something in the corners (that looks square to me). I’ve got a sort of oval, (heavily supported by a retangle). I have a sentiment, (that slipped off the oval). I have a version of a ribbon, (thats fallen into a heap). It’s all good. I use sketch inspirations for ….well….um….inspiration!

.

I need to focus, which brings me to my focal piece. A Christmas Stocking cleverly die cut from a wee scrap of the torn up tag used earlier. Waste not, want not.

.

Add three glitter embossed stars in lieu of brads. I love to embellish with stamping and ink.

.

I added some text stamping to the stocking with Versamark and mica powders. And the background tag I tore up – it was a dud sample of an attempt with stamping, glue and glitter. It found it’s purpose to shine on this tag.

.

More stamping was added to the banner. A canvas pattern for the front and the check pattern to the back.

.

Did you nitice that the stamped check pattern on the retangle frame co-ordinated with the check pattern of the embossed corners. Love that.

.

And this is the whole finished tag. I added one tiny brad for the practical purpose of suspending the stocking by the loop. When the tag is handled the stocking swings freely.

I’m linking this tag up to the Inspired By Stamping Inspiration Challenge #36. While you’re there why not check out the stamps they have for sale too. And an extra note to my Australian readers, they ship from Queensland. Something homegrown!

So what did you think of the walk thru? Useful? Interesting? Tedious? Feedback welcome. Thanks for popping by.

 

Categories: Tags | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Whats In My Sketchy Head.

  1. Loved the walk along with you as you created! I also like your pre-made stuff to choose from to create. End result is great!

  2. Beautiful!!! I love that you have a stash of tags ready to go from your previous works..so do I, but I don’t have them organized like you…you’ve inspired me to do so!

  3. Oh, I loved reading about your process! That’s one of my favorite things to hear from other crafters. The tag is sooooo cool, and the little stocking just darling!

    So glad you played along with us at IBS this week. 🙂

  4. You are such a gifted, talented artist. I’m continually amazed by your beautiful creations! Hope all is well…think of you often Theresa!

  5. Thanks for the step by steps Theresa, that was fun to read through, love your take on the sketch, your tag is one of a kind! I really like how you used the die!

    Thanks so much for sharing your card with us at IBSIC.

  6. Oh that was excellent! Not just for the tag how-to mind you, but for your commentary as well. You had me laughing there. I do the same thing.

  7. Fab tag! Loved the step-by-step.

  8. So beautiful! Hugs, Joanna

  9. Lola G.

    Thank you so much for the walk-through of your process! I’ve been thinking of making some attempts using sketches, but this post gave me ideas of how to actually work with one – I appreciate the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

