Thanks For Butterflies and Roses.

This weeks challenge theme at Simon Says Stamp and Show was quite simply Thanks. I need very little excuse to hang out in my craft room and just mess about with my supplies. I have a stash of tags that are a collection of samples, experiments or ‘failures’. If I’m doing a technique I particularly like I’ll make up several tags for the stash to have on hand for a later date. I do the same with  die cuts. This gives me a little treasure trove of items to pull together, which is where I went to get some of the ingredients for this tag. I couldn’t imagine having to make something like this from scratch. It’s more an evolution.  Butterflies and roses are a wonderful combination for making something with that extra feminine touch, and thats the direction this tag took, with some extra help from my muse.

.

I started with a base tag from my stash that was prepared with moulding paste thru a stencil and coloured with Distress Stains. Most of it got covered up eventually but you can see a peek of it down the left side of the tag. I stamped and gold embossed the flourish and dot background.

.

And finally I overstamped the whole tag with a text background with versa mark and brushed on gold mica powder, which can be seen better in this photo.  Love the whole effect of now you see it, now you don’t with the mica powders. Eventually most of the background got covered up but I don’t mind since it adds a lot of detail and layers without the bulk.

.

Next I went to my stash of precut rose petals. I had coloured a large sheet watercoloured paper with the wrinkle free distress technique and cut as many Spellbinder Rose Creation petals as I could from it. Great to have on hand to make a quick embellishment. I made an arrangment with some laces and mulberry petals and was going to call it done. My muse just wouldn’t let it rest, so I added some leaf diecuts, and was going to call it done now. No!

.

I stamped a Chocolate Baroque butterfly onto vellum and embossed it with gold, and cut it out. I used a ball stylus to add the white details and dimension and tinted the wings with Archival ink. I just love how this turned out and I really must make some more of these add to my stash ready to go. Super easy to make and the vellum makes it look delicate and light. My ‘Thanks’ tag is cut with My Fovourite Things Die-namics, which not only has a mini tag but a cute set of embellishments, including the tiny butterfly cut. Definitely done!

I just have to say thanks to my muse for sticking with me, and my crafty friends who inspire me. This tag is going to a special friend.

I love this hobby!

Categories: Simon Says Stamp and Show, Spellbinders, Tags, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Thanks For Butterflies and Roses.

  1. Your tag is so lovely. I love the vintage feel of it. The colors are luscious and the sweet little flowers are a wonderful embellishment. That butterfly….gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your tag with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. ❤ Candy

  2. Gorgeous tag, that vellum butterfly is the perfect touch!

  3. Jan Reddaway

    Beautiful Theresa.

  4. Thank you for your fabulous Tag, love the flower and the colors are just great, fabulous Butterfly too, I do love this butterfly wowwzerss thank you for sharing your Tag with the Simon Says Stamp and Show DT……wow hugs terry xxxx

  5. And what a hobby it is! This is gorgeous at every turn!!! I love the gold…perfect! Fab coloration as well!

  6. Beautiful tag, I wish your muse would give me a visit ! Love the idea of having rose petals on hand, need to do that ! Thanks so much for your lovely comment, this hobby is amazing ! Sue C x

  7. vicki

    this is absolutely breathtaking!! Gorgeous!

  8. Tracey Kuzniak

    Grogeous!!! Wow so many pretty details to adore in this awesome tag….LOVE it!! thanks so much for joining us at Simon Say Stamp and Show:)

  9. Such a beautiful tag! Love the gold embossing and all the gorgeous details. Thank you for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

