No Ink For Christmas

The title isn’t as bad as it sounds, especially for us stampy types. No! It’s just another excuse to stamp something. I’ve set myself a task this week to participate in another Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge. I was quite inspired by last weeks effort, and the design team, that I thought it was worth repeating. And I need some tags for Christmas and I love to kick start my tag creations with prompts from challenges like this. This week we were asked not to use ink pads to stamp our images, the exception being versamark since it is altogether a different beast, useful for so many techniques. Well, what can I say? This was a challenge that fit me to a T!

.

This is the tag I made using six different stamping techniques that didn’t involve the traditional ink pad to rubber to make my impressions. Some of them may look quite obvious just from looking at the photo but some are a bit more obscure due to their more subtle nature. I started off with a manilla tag cut with my Sizzix #8 Tag die and the background was eventually coloured with sponged on Distress Inks of blues and greens. I also set myself a mini challenge to use all three stamps from the Tim Holtz Just Believe set on this one tag.

.

I’m going to start at the top of the tag and work my way down. Up in the top right corner is text featuring my new favourite technique of faux batik. And in the top left, under the stars and swirls, you can see a very faint image of part of the word BELIEVE. This is a ghosted impression made by spraying my rubber with plain water and pressing it into the inked surface to lift some of the ink away. The swirl flourish was stamped in Versamark and dusted with a mica powder by Lindy’s Stamp Gang. And I couldn’t resist some good old fashioned heat embossing with my most favourite powder of all, a silver sparkler.

.

My Christmas trees where stamped with a Jo Sonja Warm White Acrylic paint. Instead of just wiping the ink off the acrylic resist, once the colour was sponged on, I tried a different approach. I sprayed the tree stamp with water and stamped the wet rubber right over  the top of the paint stamped tree. This reactivated the ink on the arcylic resist and I carefully blotted this away with a single press with a paper towel, and not a rub as you would normally do. This gave me a nice mottled effect on the paint and where the stamp didn’t align precisely, it also ghosted the background sponging. This photo also shows how the different angles of light hitting the mica powder and the embossed silver either makes it glow or fade. Sometimes your only notice the trees and at other times you only notice the stars. Sadly most of that is lost with a photo and only real life viewing reveals what can’t be seen here.

.

I could have quite happily left the tag just as it was, but I felt compelled to add some sort of dimensional embellishment. I found this tiny little Crafty Individuals sentiment in my stash which I heat embossed onto a Tattered Banner die cut. Then I had a brainstorm of an idea to make my own ‘button’ snowflakes. I punched out a circle, added several layers of heated embossing powder and stamped the tiny snowflake, also by Crafty Individuals, into the hot surface. Now if I wasn’t squeezing this little bit of crafting in at 6am, before heading off to work, I may have made them all look perfect. But you know what, I think I may like them better coz they are not.

I wonder what the next Challenge will be? Maybe I’ll get to play along with that one too.

Categories: Lindy's Stamp Gang, Simon Says Stamp and Show, Tags, Tim Holtz | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “No Ink For Christmas

  1. The flourish and the trees and the colors and the embellishments and the banner…WOW! I love ’em!! : ) Fabulous tag!!

    Thanks for sharing your creativity at the Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge!!!
    -Sarah

    For More Opportunities:
    *Follow Simon Says Stamp on Twitter
    *Like Simon Says Stamp on Facebook
    *Subscribe to Simon Says Stamp on YouTube
    *Follow Simon Says Stamp on Pinterest
    *Sign up for our Newsletter

  2. Theresa…your tag is lovely! I so love your rich, deep green background. The flourish and your trees stamping really stand out. Love your sentiment as well…so vintage looking on that little banner. The snowflakes and “button” snowflakes are such a nice embellishment! Thanks for sharing your tag with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. ❤ Candy

  3. Wow Theresa!!! This tag is beautiful!!!! Thank you for sharing all your steps. Love your creativity!!! ~Sophia

  4. Wow, such a fabulous combination of stamping techniques! Love the result, everything is gorgeous. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

  5. This tag is a GEM!!! Just gorgeous and glittery and so wintery Christmas feeling!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

