Inspiration Francaise – Oo La La

Hello readers. As mentioned in my last post, I said to expect me back sooner with something to show from my craftroom. For quite a while I’ve been checking out the Simon Say Stamp & Show Challenge Blog and admiring all the wonderful projects that creative people have been linking up to the site. I love doing challenges as they plant a seed of an idea and then the rest is up to me to see what I can create with that idea. So this week I jumped on board to play along with the Inspiration Francaise challenge at Simmon Says Stamp & Show.

.

I really like the look of the faux batik technique I did on my November tag so I wanted to try it again on this tag. I started off with stamping and inking four tags. I figure if I’m going to make one tag I may as well make several and pick out the one I like best for my base and have some spares ready made for a future project.  I have very few French themed images, so the challenge was really on to make something suitable. I went with the soft pink and blues inspired by the fashions and decor of the Marie Antoinette period, combined with a modern french shabby chic look.

.

This ended up being the last part I worked on as I was stick on what to add to this panel (which, by the way, is covering up a mistake, which is how the whole idea of the panels came about, lol). I liked Sarahs idea of using a very distinctly French expression, Oo La La. I used the Sizzix  Alterations Type Set Die to cut my letter from an inked and shimmered tag from my stash. Love that shimmer.

.

I remembered I had one printed image of the Eiffel Tower in my Crafty Secrets stash. Perfect. The other three panels on this tag where cut from one of the other four tags I had made at the start, so everything was co-ordinating nicely. I didn’t want to cover the right panel as I just adored the way the inking and stamping of the faux batik looked with this script stamp from Stampers Anonymous Papillion. I love how in some places the ink pooled around the letters to give a halo and at other places seeped under the embossing to add colour to the text. The white stripes where stamped with my Impression Obseesion Cover-A-Card Thick and Thin Stripes, using acrylic paint.

.

Did you know that the PARIS word from the Papillion Script stamp matches in size and font the letters from the Type Set die. I tried to use that discovery as a feature on this tag but it just wasn’t working, and it was covering up the wonderful effect of the faux batik so I left it alone. It’ll be worth remembering for another day in the craftroom.

Hopefully I’ll be able to play along with a few more of these challenges as they are just good fun to do!

.

Categories: Impression Obseesion, Simon Says Stamp and Show, Tags | Tags: , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Inspiration Francaise – Oo La La

  1. BEAUTIFUL!!! I love the script amid those soft yet bright colors…wonderful! Great images as well! A real beauty here!

  2. Lovely creation, the colours are very striking as is the layout. Love the lettering. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Tracy x

  3. Hello! Your Parisian tag is absolutely stunning! I love the background: the colors, the stamping, everything about it! I really love the little raised panels. The stamped Eiffel Tower, the french script images next to it, the “Oo La La!” It’s all so exquisitely done! Thanks for sharing your tags with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. ❤ Candy

  4. Your tag looks just fabulous – such great layers of colour and ink! Love the Eiffel Tower and panels….a wonderful creation. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Sarah.

  5. GORGEOUS!!! LOVE the colours and stamping/inking techniques…so pretty and creative too! Nice to see your choice of of stamps used together 🙂 Thanks so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show !

  6. Chris

    WOW! An absolutely stunning tag and I love your colours and stamping. Chris 🙂

  7. Beautiful tag Theresa, I love how you’ve made the framed areas and the colour scheme and stamping is stunning ! Thank you so much for you kind comments. Sue C x

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

