12 Tags of 2012 – November

Welcome back readers. Today I have a tag, as usual, using the inspiration of Tim Holtz’ 12 Tags of 2012 November. This month the feature technique was a faux batik effect. It’s quite possible that I may have done this technique at one time, but just as a sample. After all it has been well known to many experienced stampers. But I can say I never really took it on board, until now. I’ve been so inspired by this technique that I have already gone off and made a bunch of Christmas cards using it. But today you get my Tim inspired tag.

.

I was pondering what theme to go with, so I went and had a look through my stamps and picked out Tim Holtz’ Haberdashery. There are six stamps in this set and I managed to use them all, as well as a couple of extras from other sets. And while I made it in my theme and style, this is the first tag of the series that follows most closely the steps that Tim took to make his. Firstly I heat embossed the dressform image, and stamped the numbers down the side with Archival inks. I then added colour to the background with Distress Inkpads and Stains, before removing the embossing from my dressform. I even sponged on some more colour and added some water drops!

.

I omitted distressing the tags edge and went straight into adding some open line stamping in random places all over the surface. In lieu of a piece of burlap, which I don’t have,  I opted to stamp out the two cotton reel labels and attach them to the side with my Tiny Attacher.

.

I also did the same thing with the stamped images of the needle label and bridged the gap with a third image to make a banner of sorts. I made my flower embellishments by first stamping the needle book  image to some card stock before punching out the little petals and nesting them on some twiggy die cuts. I think of all the tags I have made this year, this one has come together the quickest and easiest. And I love the purples and greens.

.

So what do you think of the tag wall now? It’s almost complete, save for January and December. And looking at the count, this is the forth tag I’ve made since coming out to the farm to live. It still seems like I’m still settling in. I know I’m still working at cleaning up the place, lol.  After last months card drive effort I feel a bit more like my old self in the craft room and I’m getting more inspired to get in and create and share more often. So watch out for a possible extra post or two from me this month.

See ya soon!

Categories: Uncategorized | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2012 – November

  1. Extremely gorgeous!!! I love your take! The whole theme and your color are fabulous! And your cork board of tags is crazy wonderful!!! What a show piece!

  2. You always make the most beautiful tags!! They look stunning on the board too-I always look forward each month to your next Tim’s Tags creation to watch the board fill up!!

  3. evelyn poole

    Hi theresa, i love the colours as well. You sure do gorgeous colours.Please bring them along on Saturday to club. The wall is looking realy great.Glad your settleing in now, will look forward to your next post. Hugs evvie.x

  4. Wow! I love your November tag and what a lovely display all your tags will make!

  5. Beautiful tag! It’s the same colors as a batik quilt I made a few years ago.

  6. I love that you used the dress form and the colors are gorgeous! Great tag!

  7. Chris

    Absolutely stunning and such a beautiful take on TH’s tag whilst making it your own, I love it!

  8. LOVE THEM!!!!

  9. Howdy. Just came from SCS to check this out – love it. I tried out this technique too for a heart I put on a card – how cool it is. Love your color combo.

  10. Emily

    This is beautiful. I was just browsing this morning, while having coffee, and came across your beautiful Nov. 2012 tag!!! Catching up…never followed the tag thing before. You do lovely work and I’ve subscribed to your blog.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

