12 Tags of Christmas – October

I’ve been quite involved in the Hope You Can Cling To challenges over at Splitcoast Stampers this month, but somewhere in amoungst the flurry of activity I devoted time to working on my tag for October. When Tims post went live I also  got the exciting news that I was a lucky recipient of a participation prize. Way cool! And thank you Tim and Mario.

This month the tag theme was all about Halloween, and any follower of Tim would know that he loves all the holidays they celebrate in the US, so we wouldn’t expect anything less. However halloween has no tradition or relevance to me in Australia so I was free to pursue any theme I felt like. But thats just so like me anyways, so nothing new there!

I had stamped some sandwich wrap (also known as greaseproof paper, not the waxed kind) with Archival inks. I knew the paper would get a lot of wet media onto it so I used the permanent Archivals ink . I find I like this paper much better than the finer tissue wrap as it has more body. I own a grand total of two colours of acrylic paint – white and blue- and at first I was stumped what to substitute for it, and came up with nothing. But I do have some ruined Panpastels that have smashed to powder and I figured since they are nearly pure pigment, and pigment is what is used to colour acrylic paint, then I could make my own batches of coloured paint. Bingo! Applying the paint to the ’tissue’ paper gives quite a different result than ink would have.

.

We are in the middle of spring weather here in the Southern Hemisphere and the colours on my tag reflect more what we experience here at this time of the year. I tried out the glitter technique Tim demoed for us. I had a big jar of Martha Stewart clear glitter (can’t imagine what I was thinking when I bought that!) so I coloured some of that with the alcohol ink. It does turn out different that other glitter I’m familiar with. It looks like coloured sugar. I stamped some stems onto the tag and popped a glittered flower on top of where the flowers were.

.

I looked at the tag I had just made and was not feeling that excited about it. So I had a look thru some of the supplies in my craft room and fell upon the idea of adding some rubons to the surface. I often wondered if I’d ever use these pink words and wondered why I kept them for so long. Well clearly that day came when they were exactly what I need to finish this tag off. Given that it is Breast Cancer Awareness month and I’m involved in Splitcoast Stampers card drive to support the cause, I thought it was apt to have these encouraging words on my tag.

.

I love the multi layered stamping from the images stamped into tissue paper all wrinkled up, to the stamping done on the top surface. The translucence of the rubons was an added bonus and the gold shimmer spray gives the whole tag a lovley warm glow. Just like sunhine on a beautiful spring day.

Oh I just realized I haven’t taken a photo of my tag board! You’ll have to wait until next months tag to see how it’s shaping up. See you then.

Categories: Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012 | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas – October

  1. Love your take!!! Feminine and floral!!! Gorgeous flowers too!

  2. Gorgeous tag – love the sugary finish on the flowers and such a cool idea to use greaseproof paper instead of tissue, must try that myself … strange to think of you all in the middle of spring whilst here the nights are drawing in and we’re bracing ourselves for the winter – the Internet sure makes the world a smaller place :o)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

