12 Tags of 2012 September

So here we are in the month of September, and I have my lastest tag inspired by Tim Holtz’s 12 Tags of 2012. This month Tim demonstrated a technique with adhesive foil, alchohol inks and free style embossing with a stylus to create an industrial rivetted look. Initially I tried the instructions, made a couple of samples, decided I wasn’t too keen on anything I was producing, so went back to original tag to see what other inspiration I could get, and started afresh. Along the way I learnt a few more things thru play and experimentation and came up with this.

..

I went with a nature theme to contrast against the industrial theme. And since I don’t own any black or dark coloured alcohol inks, my colour palette went in a different direction. I must be one of the minority in my overall lack of love for using alcohol inks, but I was well pleased with the final result of the background. If I was smart I would have taken a photo before I covered most of it up, so I’ll show you some up close glimpses instead.

.

Firstly I chose to just use one layer of foil sheet instead of cutting up little pieces for a patchwork style look. I then pressed lines and patterns into the foil with various tools and implements in the craft room. Then I dripped several colours of alcohol ink, watermelon, sunhine yellow and raisin, onto the metal surface and let them run down the tag. I was keen to add a blue element to the background, and lacking anything blue in my small alcohol ink collection I opted to stamp with blue Archival Inks. In this photo you can see where I’ve used the splatter image from Bitty Grunge.

..

This is the corner where I first experimented with the stamping, using a twiggy stem image from Natures Elements. The image didn’t turn out as I hoped but I liked the way the oil based ink reacted with the alcohol ink, giving a worn, corroded look.

.

I have a collection of inked tags and scraps from previous experimentations and play with ink, and I cut the bird from from that stash. My initial thought was to leave the bird with a flat colour, but it just didn’t look right, so I glimmered him up with some Lindy Stamp Gang colour. To counteract all that shimmer and shine I added the matt look with the word tags.

.

My little floral arrangement is a hodgepodge of left overs, mostly from the tag I made back in May. I like the differences in shiny and flat, soft and hard, that these three elements bring together.

..

There are only a few spaces left on the tag wall now. It seemed so bare when I first adding the tags to the Tag Wall. Usually I have this board next to my work space but at the biginning of this month I was without it. Since I loosely choose colours for the current tag based on what other tags it will hang near, I was a bit lost. Not that I needed to have worried since it’s a very colourful display anyways.

Thanks for dropping by to see what I’ve been up to this month.

Categories: Lindy's Stamp Gang, Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012 | Tags: , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2012 September

  1. Your tag is absolutely gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Nicie

  2. Wow! i love the way you tag looks! Your tag is so colorful and i love how it looks! i espically love the blue bird infront of all the color! Your tag looks amazing!! Great Job!!!

  3. Jan Reddaway

    Love that tag Theresa!

  4. Fabulous tag! Love all the gorgeous colors! It’s better than TH’s! 😀

  5. WOW. Your tag’s ‘corroded’ look is soooo awesome!! Love the colors! I also think your tag display is an awesome idea. I might be stealing that! 😉

  6. ceparie

    So glad I clicked on the inlinkz tool from Tim’s blog, the full size view was worth it. You have a very pretty outcome to this month’s technique. I too, keep my scraps as they come in so handy when meeting these challenges. Don’t despair the alcohol inks as nothing beats them when you have to color a non-standard surface like metal, glass or plastic.

  7. I too think your tag is gorgeous! I must say you did a darn good job with your limited supplies of alcohol inks. Thanks so much for sharing it.

  8. Teresa Godines #6857

    Beautiful tag. Love the designs that you used in the metal background.

  9. Wow love the colors!

  10. Wow! I love the colors of your background and the various impressions!

  11. This one is my all time favorite!!! I love the turquoise bird, and the wonderfully drippy colors plus texture/impressions is fabulous. I would love to make one like this!

  12. love your tag. Just fabulous and full of rich color.

  13. Beautiful tag, love the colours

  14. Hi Theresa! Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I think your work is absolutely beautiful, and you would fit into paper piecing with a cutting machine really easily. Do you use a cutting machine currently?

  15. Pingback: 12 tags of 2012…october | Tim Holtz

  16. This tag is absolutely exceptional!!! The colors are amazing, and the whole design….WOW!!!! Congrats on your win!

  17. Love all colors! Very creative tag! Congrats!

  18. Your tag is stunning, the colours are just beautiful and I love the board you have to display all your tags – great idea. Many congrats on your well deserved win!

  19. Gorgeous tag! I just love that bird and those fab colors in the background! Love it!
    Kate

  20. I also have an eclips! This machine rocks my socks off! You want to know a secret? Once you get some cute files from SVG Cuts or Lettering Delights (or where ever) it makes life so easy because you can re-create awesome projects quickly and easily.

  21. Jayne

    Your tag is stunning. Congrats on your win.

  22. Wow! this is just gorgeous – love your colours and they all look so good displayed together like that :o)

  23. Seriously OVER the MOON GORGEOUS!!! Thanks so much for the beautiful inspiration…love everything about this tag!!!

  24. Your tags rock! I am loving this one and the technique you used.
    I am using your tag as a beautiful inspiration sample for our challenge this week at Inspiration Avenue. Please feel free to check it out tomorrow when the challenge is up and please do come and join us in the fun each week!

    Beautiful work!!
    Kim
    Imgirlwithoutwings.com
    Imgirl.etsy.com

    http://inspiration-avenue-team.blogspot.com/

  25. THIS TAG IS JUST STUNNING……..GOOD WORK.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

