12 Tags Of 2012 – August

Hello dear readers. So far I’m managing to keep up with my commitment to self, to complete the 12 tags of 2012 as inspired by Tim Holtz. I’m now living fulltime out at the farm and have my craft/office space nearly complete and this months tag is my first efforts at working in my new space. I used Tims August Tag as inspiration to create my tag.

.

I tried making a background tag similar to how Tim had made his, with the dry embossing and the paint resist technique, but I wasn’t liking the results I was getting. Since I love the look of the paint resist I stuck with that part of the technique to make my background. The stripes where stamped with Impression Obsession Cover-A-Card Thick and Thin Lines, with SnowCap paint dauber. I sponged Antique Linen and Old Paper over the top, wiped off the excess and sponged the edges with Gathered Twigs.

.

As soon as I saw the silhouette and frame I knew immediately the stamps I would use for my tag. I bought this set from Unity purely because it was called Audrey, the namesake of my daughter. I stamped the head, clear embossed it and sponged Worn Lipstick over the top. I gold embossed the frame, and the last layer of the ‘cameo’ was dry embossed with an oval design from Stampin’ Up! All layers were then cut with oval Spellbinder dies.

.

I made my little roses with Core’dination cardstock and cut two of the smallest Tattered Flowers for each bloom. The dark green leaves were cut from a Spellbinders Foliage die. The lace trim under the flower arrangment is a lace die from Cherry Lynn Designs. As you can see, I like to mix and match all brands of dies, which brings me to my last set of dies.

.

The Audrey stamp set was part of a cross promotional range for My Little Shoebox papers and part of that range included a set of dies from Cottage Cutz, so I had to buy them too, of course. Now I must confess, I’ve rarely used any of the stamps or the die cuts, and in my recent purge these items made it to the keepers pile despite their idleness. Purely sentimental reasons you must understand, lol. This blue bow and the lighter green leaves were part of the die set. I added shape and dimension to the bow, with a ball stylus and layering. I would have liked to added some shimmer to the bow but those things are still unpacked.

.

And this is the Tag Wall for August. I still haven’t sorted out a new place to hang my tags so they are still swinging from this here, old corkboard.

******************

On the home front, the new job has been a little slow with work, but the work culture within the company lacks the negativity that the previous employment situation had, which makes for a more pleasant environment. And what I lack in work hours I make up for working my butt off making this farmhouse habitable and functional for daily living, and getting my house ready for renting out. So I would say everything is in balance  and all my needs are being met. I’m enjoying my new life of ‘domestic bliss’ with my partner. This afternoon I’ll be baking up Anzac biscuits, something I have not done since….um…years and years ago. I’m a pretty decent cook by my own standards but I never bothered as long as I was living solo. Lovin’ this life!

Today my son gets a mention. He has been accepted into the Army and will begin his basic training in a few months. I’m going to relish my final days with him before they take him away. Gulp.

Enjoy being creative in some way, everyday.

Categories: Cherry Lynn Designs, Cottage Cutz, Impression Obseesion, Spellbinders, Tags, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012 | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “12 Tags Of 2012 – August

  1. dianenoble50

    WOW…it’s longer than I thought since I last checked in on you! You’ve experienced a lot of change…and much work! Glad to see your new crafting area is working for you…even better when you get all your goodies in order. Love your tags…everyone of them. This one is beautiful…and oh, my those roses! Indescribably beautiful!

  2. Enjoyed your tag and your updates! I’m thankful that you are happy and refreshed and creating beautiful things. Praying for continued blessings to you, and for your son as he ventures out. Keep up the great posts! I love seeing your talents!

  3. Such a lovely tag. I love your cameo and the color combo and bow!

  4. Fabulous take on the challenge I love the way you have created the cameo and that fabulous bow gorgeous

  5. Very pretty, and I LOOOOOOVE how your June tag came out as well. Thr colors are fantastic!

  6. Fabulous – those roses are stunning and I love that little bow. Glad the job is working out and that domestic bliss is on the upside!! Enjoy your time with your son and in watching him take those first few steps to adulthood. Hope your biscuits turned out OK!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

