12 Tags of 2012 – June

This last weekend was the Queens birthday long weekend in Australia and on Monday it rained all day. For me it was BLISS. I didn’t leave the house all day, and I got some much needed time to just stop and relax. I had my daughter home with me which is always a treat, and I spent the afternoon tinkering around at the craft table. So I used this opportunity to play along with Tim Holtz 12 Tag of 2012 and made my June tag.

.

The technique Tim focused on this month was tinting photos with Distress Inks. Instead of printing off a vintage style photo I went for a photo stamp image from Stamp Francisco. This was one of the early stamps I bought when I first discovered stamping. Photo stamps can be tricky to get a great impression and it all comes down to using the right ink with the right cardstock. Since I recently bought some Archival Inks I was keen to experiment with getting an impression from my photo stamp. The verdict – I think I have found a winner! The ink and the glossy paper worked beautifully together.

.

You can see from the proportions of the tag that this is not a very big stamp, so this photo gets up close and personal with it, lol. Now I have to say this was not the best impression I got, but it was the one I played with colour tinting on and I liked it enough to want to use it on this tag. Some of you may recognise this image is in fact a photo stamp of a old painting, but I have no idea what it looks like in original colours so I freely ad libed my choises. I used a small dry paintbrush to apply the ink lightly.

.

During my recent stay in the city, I made a long over due ‘play date’ with one of my stamping besties, and we had some fun sharing and making tag backgrounds, one of which I have used here. I do believe it started out with Distress Stains blended together, and I added some Distress Stickles in patches. Following along with Tims process for his tag, I added stamping to the background with Archival Ink using some of his stamps. He used black of course, but true to my form I went for the coloured ones.

.

While I was in Brisbane I went to a Paperraft Show, and I came home with a Sizzix eClips machine. During my lazy, rainy day crafting session I got to have a play with it. These swirly corners are my first cuts from the included cartridge. I cut the blue swirl and tossed it beside my tag, and I kinda liked it, so I worked on including it in my tag. I cut some more out of another inked tag sample I’d made and layered it on top. It was just the kind of embellishment it needed since I’m challenged to find any substitute for the ribbons and trickets and things that Tim uses.

.

What I do have is some Seam Binding, so I can dye my own crinkly ribbon. Thats right folks, I have bought some ribbon. Something I have not done in a long, long time. I gave in to seam binding since it is so light and soft to work with and I can colour it to suit me. I coloured this piece with Distress Stains and made into a bow with a BowEasy, and frayed the tail ends.

.

And here is the Tag Wall for the month of June. I love how colourful it looks.

.

As I mentioned earlier, when I was in Brisbane I went to the Papercraft Show. The very same show that Tim Holtz was at doing his demos. Cool huh?

Categories: Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012 | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2012 – June

  1. Thank you for your nice comment on my June Tag post. I really like your tag; I would never guess the main image was a stamp. So detailed with just the right amount of tinting. You bought an eClips! Whoa-Ho. That is a major machine that scares me it seems so complicated. Lovely tag.

  2. Thanks for your kind words on my blog! I love how you did the background on your tag. I like how you added the stickles so that it didn’t come off as being too symmetrical. I love that you colored the seam binding to match. The added pieces you made with your eclipse were just the right touch. Great tag!

  3. What a beautiful tag, love the colors and your embellishments.

  4. Such a beautiful tag. Love how you tinted the image! Your layered background is awesome too.

  5. Beautiful tags!

  6. Hi! Just a note to say I hope you and Audrey continue to recover well!

  7. Love your tag, especially the background, its beautiful.
    Greetings all the way from Holland, Henriette

  8. Love your tag! The color combination is GORGEOUS and the eClips swirls are the perfect addition!

  9. Gorgeous tag!!! Love the colors!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

