12 Tags of 2012 – April

After doing Tim’s online course, Creative Chemistry 101, I was intrigued enough about the Ranger Archival Inks to branch out of my water based dye ink zone and experiment with these oil based dye inks. Tim used these inks for the technique used on this months tag so I waited for my order of a few colours to arrive so I could try them out. The technique involved inking the background surface of an embossing folder and then transferring the ink onto cardstock as it is embossed thru the folder. You can see the technique demonstrated in this video.

.

And this is the completed  tag I made using the technique.

.

I was undecided about what combo of embossing folder and background stamp to use, but in the end I settled on this Cuttlebug Script embossing folder, stamped with an Impression Obsession Cover-A-Card Bubbles, using Ranger Archival Saffron ink. I was well pleased with the result. I’m sure I’ve tried the technique before, using other inks but was not satisfied with how they turned out, so I’m very happy with my first foray into using these new-to-me inks. The raised embossing was inked up by sponging on some distress inks.

.

I had no plan on how to decorate my tag apart from not wanting to get any dies out to make new cuts. I was feeling too lazy for that this week. So I bought out my selection of die cuts that I’d pre-cut from scraps one day when I was just messing about. These two birds in their cage were cut from a Cottage Cutz Birdcage die. I bent the assembled die cut so the cage popped out, putting dimensional adhesive where I wanted the die to sit out from the tag, and glueing the sides down with Glossy Accents. I added some heavy sponging of a dark brown ink behind the cage to create a contrast from the rest of the tag.

.

The other embellishments were a hodge podge of bits and pieces found in my stash, including a paper rose I made, a mulberry rose and leaves, and an assortment of ‘vines’ cut with a My favourite Things Flourish die. It was very handy having all these elements pre cut. Generally I make and cut things up as I go along, but there was no way I’d have the time this week to do all that. I can see myself doing this more often because I quite enjoyed arranging the parts without the cutting.

.

And I leave you this week with the tag wall. It’s looking very colourful now!

Theresa.

Categories: Cottage Cutz, Impression Obseesion, Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012 | Tags: , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2012 – April

  1. I really like your version of Tim’s tag, that birdcage die is gorgeous and the flowers really add to the dimension. It is beautiful. Thank you so much for your comments on my tag, much appreciated. Anne x

  2. Jan Reddaway

    That looks great Theresa. I just love and want that birdcage die!

  3. Jenny Rawling

    Thanks for your comment. I love all your tags – your finished wall will be so beautiful! I must try that.

  4. I like the feel of your card. The bright colors spark against the rusty look of the bird cage. Blessings!

  5. you tag is wonderful! the birds, flawers, all, so cute!!!

  6. Hi Theresa. Thank you for your kind comments. This is a beautiful take on tim’s tag. I love the cage and flowers. Good luck. Hugs. Annie 🙂

  7. Beautiful tag Theresa!!! I never thought to ink the embossing folder and then emboss. I’m going to have to give this technique a try! Have a wonderful weekend! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

