12 Tags of 2012 – March

Hello readers. Thank you for all your positive comments about the change in the look of my blog. While I had some fun playing around with the creativity in the digital realm to get the look, it’s good to get back to the tactile experience of paper crafting. So today I give you my March tag for the 12 Tags of 2012, inspired by Tim Holtz. As usual I adapted some of the ideas to suit my own supplies and tastes.

.

This is the final result after a few false starts. Tims tag started with a kraft base, but when I went in that direction it just looked miserable to me. I tried a couple of different coloured bases and finally settled on a Baja Breeze (Stampin’ Up!) cardstock for my base, teamed up with two Seasonal Distress Inks, Evergreen Bough and Iced Spruce.  I used the Iced Spruce to stamp the music sheet image by Impression Obession Cover-A-Card. The sentiment, a Tim Holtz stamp, was stamped with the same ink. The tag edges were distressed and sponged with the Evergreen Bough ink.

.

Tim featured a mosaic technique in his original tag, but I just couldn’t get that look happening on my card. A small, but growing, pile of paper crafted rubbish, told me I need to rethink this part. I knew I wanted a glossy tiled look, so looking thru my stash I found what I needed to get that look. I picked out the bird image from a Crafty Secrets collage sheet, covered it with a film of glossy laminate, cut it up into squares and adhered it to a base, leaving a margin between the squares to mimic grout lines. The ‘grout’ was sponged with Iced Spruce, and the laminate acted as a resist which left the ’tiles’ clean of ink.  The embellishment was made from a variety of die cuts from my stash.

.

I wanted to add some splatters to my background, just like Tim did. I used a Starburst Stain, Azure Sea Asters by Lindy’s Stamp Gang, and flicked it on with a paintbrush. The fun part about these stains is that sometimes they look like splotches with little to no shimmer.

.

But change the angle of the light hitting it and…POW…. you get to see a super shimmery, other colour. Cool huh?

.

And lastly, here is what the Tag Wall looks like now. At this stage I’m not sure if Tim has plans to do a belated January Tag, so I’ll just leave that one blank for a while longer. I’ve just signed up for Tim’s Creative Chemistry 101 Online Class, and I’m sure I won’t be short on inspiration to fill the gap in myself.

Hope you all have a great week.

Theresa

Categories: Impression Obseesion, Lindy's Stamp Gang, Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012 | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “12 Tags of 2012 – March

  1. Wow…very beautiful! Totally different than Tim’s tag, but the spring feel is definitely there…love the bird. Fab take on this!

  2. I like how you made the technique your own by doing a “tile” look to the mosaic. Iced spruce is my favourite new distress ink colour,well done!

  3. dianenoble50

    Theresa, This is stunning. I so love your version more…your colors are vibrant and the tags is so much softer. Just gorgeous. Love the BBreeze with the distress inks you used…will have to remember that. Thanks for all the inspiration. Hope all is well.

  4. Love your tag. I love the colors and the spring like feel with the bird in the window. Very striking effect!

  5. Love your mosaic tag it’s nice that you have put a different twist on it. Can’t wait to see your creative chemistry ones now! Thanks for sharing and commenting on my blog too.

  6. Theresa, this came out beautiful!!! I love the mosaic tiles and colors you used. The flower is a nice finishing touch!!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

