12 Tags of 2012 – February

Last December I joined in with Tim Holtz’s tag making escapade, The 12 Tags of Christmas 2011. It was a fun event to get involved with, watching Tim using his signature products to make his tags, and then creating my own tag using his ideas for inspiration. Of course the really fun part started when I had to improvise with supplies I had on hand and add my own creative styling to my tag. And the second round of enjoyment came from seeing what others created with the same ideas. There are some amazingly creative people out there playing with ink and paper.

.

This is what my tag wall ended up looking like after a fortnight of frantic, high energy, tag making for the 2011 series. As a piece of wall decor I love it, and didn’t take it down when I packed away my Christmas decorations. I was going to leave it there all year until the next series of tags started for 2012 in December again. But Tim has other plans for his 12 Tags. This year he has decided to make it a monthly series, spread out over the whole year. So I cleared my ‘Tag Wall’ to start afresh. And as this is a recent idea from Tim, we’ve skipping January for the time being and launching right into a Valentines themed tag for February.

.

 I started my tag the same way Tim did with his, stamping a background with acrylic paint, sponging ink over the stamping  for a resist effect, and then adding drops of water over the top for a mottled look. I used a Jo Sonja paint and an Impression Obsession Cover-A-Card Flourish stamp, for the stamping. I liked making this, even thought the cleaning of the stamp, ASAP, as a bit tedious.

.

From here on in I diverge from the orginal tag, for lack of similar items he used. Sticking with the Valentines theme I found a pretty vintage image from Crafty Secrets in my stash and decided to work with that. I found this sentiment from Tims ‘Stuff To Say’ stamp set. Now as I look at while I’m typing this I see it would fit a heart shape, duh! But at the time of making my tag I used the angle of the left side of the script to determine the angle to tilt my image. Tim used some  tissue tape to make a ruffle for a heart element he had on his tag. I thought I’d use washi tape as an alternative, but anything I did with it just looked wrong, so I opted to cover a scrap of cardstock with it and simply punch out some hearts.

.

I use a Sizzix Tag #8 die to cut all my tags, and included in the cut are two name plates, like the fancy one I used here. I used Tims idea of inking the die cut and covering it with Distress Stickles in the same colour. I’m new to this product, but I saw it in my local scrap shop just before Christmas and thought I’d buy a couple of colours to play with.  It’s really quite different to similar glitter glue products, in that it sparkles without the full glitter effect. It’s a great way to add some sparkle to a vintage style project. My lace trims are die cuts from Cherry Lynn Designs, Anastasia Border. The stamp is from the same stamp set I used earlier ,and it is sized perfectly to fit the opening of the name plate. Gotta ‘LOVE’ that!

.

And here is the start of my new Tag Wall. I wonder what I’ll look like when it’s all filled?

Categories: Tags, Tim Holtz | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “12 Tags of 2012 – February

  1. Jan Reddaway

    That’s great Theresa, I look forward to seeing the others you make. I have 2 Cuttlebug tag dies that came with the alpha set of Red Tag Sale but I don’t think they are the same sort of size.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

