Stampin’Up! Workshop, Kirsty Style

Today I had Kirsty Brown pop on down to my mother’s place (I’m staying with her for the weekend) for a Stampin’Up! demonstration. Oooo, that girl is good! It was a pleasure having her come and strut her stuff, lol. She put on a professional presentation from start to finish, and I know the lucky ladies present really got a lot out of it.

.

We had a couple of absolute beginners in our midst, so Kirsty started out explaining some basic techniques for stamping. We got to use a lot of those very same techniques in our kit project she had prepared for us. Just as she finished showing us what we’d be doing, and before we started making our kits, she presented me with a Thank You card!

.

O.H. M.Y. W.O.W! Can you believe how stunning that piece of stamping art is. That girl seriously knows my style. When I saw this I knew she just didn’t make me a lovely card, but she made a card especially taylored for me. She knew I had a fondness for this stamp set, even though I hadn’t purchased it yet. Sneaky! And she did an amazing job of layered collage stamping. She said she was trying to channel ME, lol, when she was putting this together. I think I’m going to have to frame this one.

.

And this is my card I made with Kirsty’s kit. She let me get involved with card we were going to make today, by asking for my input into the kit. I picked out THIS CARD from her blog, suggested a few changes to make it more suitable for a demonstration, and she did the rest with coming up with this pretty design. Kirsty very cleverly put a card together that gave us a sampling of  a few stamping techniques and papercrafting products. I know our ‘absolute beginner’ was particularly impressed, going from being overwhelmed by all she was taking in, to enjoying the hands on process of making the kit. Experiencing the process greatly assisted in her understanding of the craft of cardmaking. I thoroughly enjoyed being in an environment that fostered a new learning experience.

Hosting a Stampin’Up! workshop with Kirsty was a worthwhile experience, and I enjoyed the social interaction with the ladies. This was a bit of a step out of my comfort zone, but I recommend this to any shy birds like me to give this a go sometime soon. And if you live anywhere near the Lockyer Valley in Australia, I can’t recommend Kirsty highly enough to do a workshop for you.

Categories: About me, Stampin' Up! | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Stampin’Up! Workshop, Kirsty Style

  1. kirstyscardnscrap

    I am so glad you enjoyed today and of course the Field Flowers card!!! LOL! I had a blast, and enjoyed sharing the gorgeousness that is stamping. Will have to do it again sometime!
    Kirsty xx

  2. Great card – where did Kirsty get the background paper with the information about flight on it from?

    • The paper is from the current Stampin’ Up Specialty paper range called First Edition. We all got a strip of paper cut to the same size in our kits, and as luck would have it I had the word ‘flight’ in bold on one side. I flipped the original card layout so I wouldn’t cover up the word. It’s one of those happy accidents that looks like it may have been totally planned. Love it when that happens 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

