12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Eleven

I’m nearly at the end of showing my twelve tags, with just two more to go. Tim showed us another new technique for tag number eleven, using shrink plastic. I was glad he used shrink plastic, since I’ve had some for several years and haven’t got around to using any of it. Now I had some motivation to unearth mine and watch some magic happen. I didn’t have any glossy card stock handy ( ie I was to lazy to get some from the drawer and add yet more stuff to my overcrowded table, lol), so I opted to go my own way with the background and stick to monotone.  Here is what my finished tag looks like.

.

Before I get into the shrink plastic part, I’ll just go over a few other parts of the tag, starting with the background. During this tag series I’ve had a chance to have a good play with White Picket Distress Stain. I used it again on a background stamp (Impression Obsession, Cover-A Card Damask) to get the white impression onto the green background. I love the soft faded look of the stamping. I’ve probably said that a few time already over the past few days, and I mean it. Love the look it gives.

 .

And this is what my tattered flowers die cuts look like when they have been shrunk in UTEE. Definitely a technique worthy of further exploration, and not a bad result for a first run at it. One of the good things about doing this tag series has been getting out the stuff I’ve had lying around my craft room for ages, but rarely used.

.

Last weekend, one of my crafting buddies gifted me a package of chipboard numbers, so I put them to good use straight away. Since I had my silver paint out from the previous tag, I decided to use it to paint these numbers. I added several layers of embossing powder, and when it was nice and thick, and hot, I pressed my rubber stamp into it (the same stamp used for the background). Did you notice that in the top photo, the numbers look blue? Thats because I embossed with yet another two tone product from Lindys Stamp Gang. This time I used Angel Wings, a clear embossing powder with blue highlights. I can’t help but to hold it up to catch the light and see it change colour. Fun.

..

One more tag to go. The tag wall is nearly complete!

Categories: Impression Obseesion, Lindy's Stamp Gang, Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Eleven

  1. Beverly

    Ooooo….how do you spell “ooo?” Not, “Oh,” but “Ooo” which rhymes with “you.” LOL. I LOVE this one. So many different techniques. LOVE the background, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the numbers and your little flowers. May end up being my favorite overall. [But still LOVE those little pinecones from Day 1].

    It’s been a delight watching each new tag being posted. Thanks for sharing your artistic talent with us.

    Beverly
    RavioliGirl on SCS

  2. Beautiful tag!!! All of your tags are so gorgeous. Love the soft green and silver colors! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

