12 Tags of Christmas 2011 – Tag Ten

On the tenth day, Tim showed us how he recreated the look of mercury glass ornaments with Facets and Craft Foil Sheets. Great ideas by Tim, but I needed to recreate the idea with stuff I had on hand. I started with the only two acrylic buttons I own, lol.

.

A quick look thru my stuff also revealed a distinct lack of Christmas themed papers. What can I say? I’m just not really big on papers or embellishments – but most of you knew that already, lol. As mention earlier I found my two buttons, and then I also found a scrappy scrap of Christmas themed paper, so I was good to go. I went with the blue theme this time, simply because I felt the wall needed an injection of a brighter colour.

..

I made my hanging ornaments in much the same way that Tim made his, just with different materials. My foil was the plain old garden variety stuff found in the third drawer, and not the crafty stuff Tim used. I can’t vouch for kitchen foil ever making a good contact adhesion to the buttons, but since  these will never be handled I figured it was a safe bet that they’d stay looking like that for a good while to come. I made my silver ‘greenery’ by painting my leaf shapes, cut with Spellbinders, with silver paint. And since I was impatient for it to dry, I poured Silver Pearl embossing powder over the top and heat set it. I like the texture it created on the surface. You may have noticed that some of the leaves were stencilled onto the background and others were die cuts, layered on top for some added dimension. 

.

I love making these cute little banners. They are very easy to hand cut as they don’t require straight, parallel edges. You may have noticed I used my new custom ink pad I made for Tag Three, to stamp my sentiment (Unity Stamp Co). I still thats pretty cool how that stamps up. Now if I was smart I’d stamp off a whole bunch of these before I clear my table away and use them on next years Christmas cards. And lastly, you can see I’ve used another scrap of pretty lace found in my stash.

.

So do you agree, the wall needed an extra dash of blue?

Categories: Spellbinders, Tags, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas, Unity Stamp Co | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “12 Tags of Christmas 2011 – Tag Ten

  1. Wow!!!!! Yes, the wall needed that extra dash of blue! I love the colors in this one! Just stunning!!! Thank you for sharing! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

