12 Tags of Christmas 2011 – Tag Nine

On the ninth day Tim made a tag using a new technique – double heat embossing. My first thoughts was that it was interesting idea, but it really wasn’t grabbing my imagination. I was ready to give it a try just the same, just so I could at least say I gave it a go. As I was making the background I was getting excited about what I was making. So I made another, then another. I love this technique! Watching the ‘distressed’ parts appear as I rub the final colour over the top of the embossing just makes me go WOW. And this is the tag I made with one of the backgrounds.

.

I just love that red distressing around the egdes of the tag. The background stamping was done with Impression Obsession Cover-A-Card Swirls. I also used Tims idea of using die cut letters to spell out my sentiment,  then added Glossy Accents to give them dimension.

.

I went to Brisbane on the weekend, and the local Scrap shop had a lone jar of Rock Candy Crackle Paint sitting on the shelf. I’d seen Tim use this on a couple of tags by now, so I thought I’d give it a try. Oh my goodness! How have I managed to turn a blind eye to this product? I covered my cut out bird with the Crackle paint and left it to do its thing as it dried.  When dried, I rub ink into the cracks which really brings out all that cracked texture. I’ve often heard people say how they love this stuff, and now I’ve tried it for myself I understand where they were coming from. I have no doubts that I’ll be seeing the bottom of that jar.

.

I just had to show you my shimmery gold green holly leaves. Once again, I used Lindy Stamp Gang products. I think this one was called a Starburst. What I love about these colours is the two toned effect you get as the light hits the surface. In this case, sometimes green and sometimes gold, but always shimmery. My leaves and branch were hand cut, and the berries are punched out circles with glossy accents added for shine.

.

And lastly, here is the tag wall after the ninth day. Only three more tags to go.

Categories: Impression Obseesion, Lindy's Stamp Gang, Tags, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas | Tags: , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas 2011 – Tag Nine

  1. Wonderful tags! You have made the double distress background look so good and your bird is just fabulous!

  2. Hello and Merry Christmas my friend! I’ve been truly enjoying your Christmas tags – oh my how BEAUTIFUL! You are a true artist, through and through, and it melts me that you are creating, enjoying, technique-ing, and sharing it all! My fav tag so far is #3 – ahhh how the beautiful damask speaks to my embossed little heart! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Can’t wait to see the entire collection – a true treasure! Love to you!

  3. Beverly

    Still have to say it…LOVE your tags more than Tim’s….LOL. I’d have to say that numbers 7 and 9 are my favorites, although the choice is almost impossible to make! I echo your friend, Kay…you are a true artist and your tags are all amazing.

    Beverly
    RavioliGirl on SCS

  4. Absolutely gorgeous!! I love your interpretation of Tim’s tags!! All of them are lovely …

  5. Wow, these are fabulous! I love that you played with inks and embossing and crackle paint – How can you give these lovelies away?!!

  6. Another beautiful tag!!!! I love the red edges too! The glossy accents are fantastic and the bird is beautiful! Thanks for sharing. ~Sophia

  7. I love your tags!

  8. Terry York

    LOVE this tag…rich colors and a bird! My Fav; blue bird of happiness! Great job THNX 4 sharing with us! Happy New Year! ~Terry

  9. Pingback: Linky Party Winner | Lindy's Stamp Gang

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

