12 Tags of Christmas -Tag Eight

On the eighth day of tag making Tim departed from the more traditional Christmas themes and headed into Steampunk territory. I’d thought about using scraps from my Graphic 45 Steampunk Debutant papers, but the colours weren’t WOWing me that day. So I slept on it ( Tims posts always went live at 6.00pm my time). The next morning when I went to the post office,  there waiting for me was a delivery of stamps from Unity. I got to thinking how I could use them in my tag for today. And this is what I came up with.

.

My new stamps, All About Today, are primarily journalling stamps about  months, days, and dates. But I liked the grungy look of them, so I stamped them quite liberally over the background. I kept to Tim’s colour palette, but went my own way with the stamping. I stamped the months on a strip of paper and used it in place of the film strip ribbon on Tims tag.

.

I unearth the rubber image of the family portrait from my older rubber collection. It was made by Tuscan Rose, which unfortunately doesn’t make stamps anymore. This stamp was one of my favourites at the time and I’ve made a number of impressions from it. Anyways, I digress. I used this stamp very much the same way Tim used his gentlemen stamp, stamping onto grunge paper and cutting out. I found the labels in my stash that I’d forgotten about. I remember most everything I buy, but if it was given to me then I tend to forget I have it. These I won in a scrap hamper some time back. I used my new stamps to add the words ‘How we spend our day”. Love that vintage typeset font. Perfect for this tag. The brads, another forgotten item gifted to me earlier in the year, were coloured with alcohol inks.

.

Some other elements from Tims tag I wanted to use in mine were the circles, pointer and the punch of red. I spotlighted the month and made the arrow with my new stamps. And the word “Family’ and the date were stamped from Lifes Little Moments ( Ippity by Unity). I love how the word “Family” is layed out like that, because that gave me the large circle element I was looking for, and it fit the theme of my tag perfectly. The ’25’ is a hack of another stamp, but by gosh it works, don’t you think! And the brads at the top were also gifted to me.

This is one of the tags that makes me really happy. It’s a real make-do collage of images, and together they tell a little story. And I like all the gifted parts I was able to incorporate into it too.

.

And here is the wall, two thirds the way done.

Categories: Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas, Unity Stamp Co | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

