12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Five

Hello, and welcome to day 5 of  Tim Holtz’s 12 tags of Christmas. With this tag I learned about a new technique with alcohol inks which got me really excited. I like new techniques because they extend the usefulness of supplies, so I was eager to get a start on this tag. And this is the final result.

.

There was a learning curve with this technique. The first couple of attempts with lifting the alcohol colour from the base were a bit messy. So I cleaned my acetate tag (cut from packaging) with rubbing alcohol and started again with a clean slate, so to speak. Eventually I got something I was happy with and I was able to proceed with embellishing . I used a bold  pionsettia stamp to get my design onto the tag. It was fascinating to wipe away the solvent ink to reveal the clear images. The next thing I wanted to do was make a wreath embellishment for the tag

.

The wreath was cut with My Favorite Things Decorative Doiley die, the circles cut with Spellbinder Nestabilities, and the Dove from Cottage Cutz.  Since the acetate tag was highly reflective, I wasn’t sure how I would go about getting the dove to outshine the background. Nothing like a good all over coverage of glitter to fix that problem, lol. I doubt I’ve ever used so much glitter as I have in the past couple of days. My house looks like a fairy has been thru it, but since I’m too busy with making my tags I don’t pay too much mind to it.

.

And here is the wall with the fifth tag in place. It’s growing!

Categories: Cottage Cutz, Tags, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Five

  1. Theresa your tags are gorgeous, thanks for sharing your lovely work. I will check back to see your collection growing. I love the way you improvise for the dies and materials you do not have!! True creativity.

  2. Wow, your tag no 5 looks wonderful – I’m still behind, too 😉

  3. The bold red color and the bright glitter are really eye catching on this one!!! You can never have too much glitter during the holidays! ~Sophia

  4. Love the dove.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

