12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Four

 Tim’s tag (#4), was big on the snowman and snowflake theme. I have a couple of these wintery themed things, but living in a warmer climate like I do, I just don’t gravitate to that theme as a rule. So I went pink!

.

Not exactly a traditional Christmas look by any stretch of the imagination, lol, but a fun and pretty tag nonetheless. I made my background just the way Tim did his, with the Picket Fence Distress Stain. I like the soft chalky look this gives to the ink.  I liked the acetate edge use for his tag, and I scratched my head thinking of how I could use that idea for my tag since I was lacking a suitable die cutting tool to cut thru my acetate (packaging). Then I remembered I bought some pretty packing tape printed with a lace design. I simply stuck the tape down onto a strip of vellum, then cut with a Spellbinders die (Classic Lace Border). So I got my shiny, see thru, die cut edge after all.

.

I had a scrap of glittered paper that I used for the die cut bird. I fussy cut him, by placing my paper over the die in such a way as to get the oval edge, printed on the paper, to somewhat match the arc of his wing. I cut another bird shape from more of the glittered paper, and literally ripped it’s head off ( lol) and adhered it over the top of the first die cut. I didn’t want to see the pretty paper going to waste in the bin when I could use it to add some more sparkle to my friend. You would have done the same I’m sure! This is the first time I worked with this die cut bird, and as I’m working with it, it reminded me a lot of the Rainbow Bee Eaters I see a lot of around here at this time of the year. They are so pretty amd colourful, and I get to watch them flit around ALL day while I’m working.

.

Those of you who remembered the last tag, will no doubt recognize the stamping of the words on the background. It was in fact stamped with my new custom stamp pad. Don’t be surprised if I use it again on another tag. Love the soft, worn look of this stamping.

.

First row is now complete. Looking good eh?

Categories: Marianne Creatables, Spellbinders, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas, Unity Stamp Co | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Four

  1. Looking good indeed! Very pretty … 🙂

  2. This is so beautiful! Love your bird, and your soft colors. The leaves are wonderful, too.

  3. The colors are just beautiful on this one!!! ~Sophia

  4. What a beautiful tag! I often think I should use this bird die more often, but am never very enthusiatic about it…well, that was until I saw this pretty in pink tag. It is so lovely and wonderfully romantic. I am giddy with inspiration after seeing this marvel. Scrumptious! Thanks so much for this.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

