12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Three

Tim Holtz’s Tag 3, using kraft again, was looking good, but after my attempts with using the stuff with the last tag, I was ready for a change of colour.  I started my tag with a fresh white base, just to clear my senses, lol.

.

And this is how my finished tag ended up looking. Quite different from the original, but I’ll explain in more detail where I got my inspiration from. It required a bit of lateral thinking on my part.

.

On Tims tag, he stamped and dry embossed a matching design, but I don’t own anything like that. But it got me thinking about stamping and embossing a similar design, instead of the same design. So, I stamped a brocade image (Stampendous – Tulip Jumbo Cling set), and heat embossed with a silver pearl powder.  I then dry embossed the tag with the Textile Cuttlebug folder. And lastly I sponged distress inkes over the top to bring out the patterns of the two different embossing techniques. The end result has a similar look of damask fabric.  I’m really pleased with the way this turned out and I might see what other designs I have that might work with this idea.

.

Tim also used a technique of custom colouring your own stamp pad to match a stamp design. I made my stamp pad out of Cut and Dry foam to match my stamps (Ippity by Unity- Season of Joy). If you’ve not tried this technique before I highly recommend you give it a go. It is so fun! Love how some of the colours ( like that bossy red!) bleed over into the other colours’ space. The stamped note was then crumpled and distressed for an aged effect. The spots were stamped with Impression Obsession Splatter.

.

The pionsettia was cut from a Marianne Creatables die……

.

…… and the lace trim was from my old stash of stuff. So pretty it makes me smile.

.

And here is the latest tag, sitting very prettily beside the other two on the wall. Looking good, doncha think?

Categories: Marianne Creatables, Stampendous, Tags, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas, Unity Stamp Co | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas 2011- Tag Three

  1. Beverly

    Girl…you are killing me with these tags!!! There is no way I’m going to be able to pick a favorite when you’re finished, but I’m “aloving” this one!

    Beverly
    RavioliGirl on SCS

  2. Very beautiful job!!

  3. Another beauty! I was drawn to your flower but then saw the detailed background… WOW. That’s just gorgeous.

  4. These are all so stunning! Love them!!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

