12 Tags Of Christmas 2011- Tag Two

HERE is the link to Tim Holtz’s tag 2.

The first thing that struck me with Tims tag today, was where he used the Picket Fence Stain for the emboss resist technique on the base of his tag. It was what I’d done on my tag yesterday. I liked the effect yesterday, so I tried it again for todays tag. Oh dear! It was all wrong for me. Twice I tried and failed to make a tag with Kraft paper and Picket Fence Stain. By now you may imagine I was somewhat frustrated. So I stopped and thought about what I needed to focus on. I reminded myself it was not about replicating Tims tag, but rather using his tag as inspiration for my creation. So I started again.

This time I made a tag that I liked. I stuck with the idea of using kraft paper and used it for nearly everything on this tag, using the Distress Inks to add my colours.  I liked the red and green in the top left of the original tag. I’d tried stamping something in that corner with a previous tag, and it was terrible, so I made my own holly embellishment and added some die cut leaves ( Spellbinders).  I trimmed the bottom of the card with a die cut and a piece of found lace in my stash.

I liked the glossy resist on Tims paper and stamped my own words (Ippity by Unity – Season Of Joy) and clear embossed them. It adds just the right amount of shine. I splattered the background with Lindy’s Stamp Gang Moonshadow Bronze. That was fun and messy.  I’m definitely going to use that technique again for sure.

I really liked the sticky canvas die cut that Tin used, but I don’t own anything like that. So time to improvise! Years ago, back in my textile creating days, I bought a sample of something called scrim. It’s a lightweight, gauzy, open weave material. So I cut off a couple of small squares and set about making my own piece of ‘canvas’.  Because it was a very loose fabric, I ModPodged down two layers of scrim onto some card stock, put it under some heavy books between wax paper and waited until it set.  Then I die cut it with my Dove (Cottage Cutz). I love the way this turned out. The weave texture looks so nice with the kraft. I decided to use the dove as a hanging ornament, and salvaged a peice of cardstock from the previous tags gone wrong to make the embossed oval.

Tag two was a trial at the beginning, but perseverence, and improvisation, resulted in a tag I’m happy with. And this is what my wall looks like now. And just a quick note about my wall photos. You’ll probably notice that the colours of my tags look somewhat duller in these photos. Thats because I only take an indoor photo if I have no option to go outside, as with this photo. And whats with the Apricot walls? Actually they are Apricot (shame), but I spend all my extra time and money on my hobby instead of renovating, LOL. I fairly certain I’m in good company, eh readers? Hello?

Categories: Cottage Cutz, Spellbinders, Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas, Unity Stamp Co | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “12 Tags Of Christmas 2011- Tag Two

  1. These are beyond gorgeous. Love them both, but I adore the second one. I love doves, and the texture of this one is fabulous. Love all the piled on layers, yet you can see everything. Full of fabulous embellishment but not overdone. Perfect! I’d love a ton of them on my tree. I’m really getting inspired. Can’t wait to see the whole collection! (We need to chat soon…wanna catch up with you!)

  2. Wow, this is utterly gorgeous!! You’re doing a beautiful job on Tim’s tags! And thank you for the sweet comment on my blog! Hope you have lots of fun making all the other tags!!

  3. I love the first and now the second! Wow!!! The layers are fantastic!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

