12 Tags Of Christmas 2011 – Tag 1

This year I’m going to join in on the creative fun over on Tim Holtz’ blog and make the 12 tags of Christmas. He has been creating these tags since 2007, and I’ve been content to sit on the sidelines and watch. But this year will be different, as I get aboard for some interactive fun with Tim and his legion of fans, and we create tags inspired by him.  HERE is a link to the first inspiration tag of the 2011 series.

And here is my first ever 12 Tags of Christmas inspired tag! Totally loved making this tag. Loved it!

 

How cool is that? I’m a little bit giddy at joining in this year. Can you tell? So what did I do to make my tag?

 

I don’t have any winter themed embossing folders, and I did like the background of the original tag. I recreated an inspired look with clear embossed snowflake stamping ( Ippity by Unity – Season of Joy) onto blue card stock. Then using the emboss resist technique, I swiped Picket Fence Distress Stain over the top. Love the frosty look this gives. I found some chipboard letters stash away so I employed them here, covering them with layers of embossong powder and glitter.

 

The pine cones were made from the Sizzix Tattered Flowers die. I used three of the flowers (second to smallest) to make them, and I love how they turned out. The foliage is made from Spellbinder Foliage dies, and the banner was stamped with an Impression Obsession Music stamp, free hand cut and bent into shape. Love that little banner, and so easy to make.

 

I raided my button box to pull out these vintage buttons. A quick story behind those buttons. My brother-in-law was demolishing an old house one day, and found an old tin full of buttons. Old Buttons, glass buttons, leather buttons, bakalite buttons and even some badges from WWII. And all very dirty. I washed and scrubbed every one of those buttons. It took me a couple of days and my fingers were sore, but it was worth it to save those buttons., LOL. And this is where three of them ended up. And seriously, don’t you just love those paper pinecones.

 

 

As I make the tags I’ll be adding them to my wall were I create. I look forward to seeing a piece of wall art complete after all twelve tags are made. Now, wouldn’t you agree, that seeing all those blank tags will be a great incentive to complete all of them.

Stay tuned for the next tag.

Categories: Impression Obseesion, Spellbinders, Tags, Tim Holtz, Tim Holtz 12 Tags of Christmas | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “12 Tags Of Christmas 2011 – Tag 1

  1. Absolutely beautiful!!! The layers of details are gorgeous! What a fun idea. Thanks for sharing! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

