My First Collaged Tag

My card making will be taking a little detour for a while. Until recently I never got the whole tag making idea that I see a lot of paper crafters get into. Then I went to my first Stamp Camp earilier this year and received a few of them as swaps, which I then hung up to display.  After all, what do you do with a tag? I love the little display I created with them, and I’ve been inspired to want to  make my own tags. I hope you enjoy this change of scenery as I make my foray into tags. I made this one for a friend.

 

I shaped the top of the tag with Spellbinder Label 5 die, which gave me a lovely decorative edge. I had a pad of Graphic 45 papers which I originally wanted  to use exclusively for this tag, but as I progressed I decided not  to be resticted to just one set of papers. So, once I freed myself to use what ever I had on hand, I just dove into my crafty scraps and went from there. The bird cage, was cut from grunge paper with the Sizzix Caged Bird die, and inked and stained with Moon Shadow mists  from Lindy’s Stamp Gang. The frilly lace on the side is vellum, punched with a decorative edge, and then ruffled up.

 

I stained some paper doileys, pulled out some lace bits, and found a snippet of beaded trim.  I love this collaged, layered look  because  it’s fun going thru my box of ‘junk’ to find bits and pieces to put together. You can see the edges of two of the paper  doileys I stained with Lindy’s Stamp Gang products, in the photo above. You can also see I do own lots of embellishments- LOL – I just don’t use them in my card making very much.

 

And since I was having fun decorating the front, I took my enthusiam to the reverse side and made sure that looked pretty too. I made a pocket with another sizzix die, Scalloped Envelope ( a Stampin’ Up! exclusive), and added four smaller tags into the pocket. .

 

I want to show you the little tags inside. One is a die cut from a Marianne Creatables die. She has some lovely intricate die designs and I love the detail in this one. So pretty and feminine. Another I layered a scrap of doiley onto paper and fussy cut around the top edge. And the square one was simply a graphic from the paper collection and I’ll write a message to my friend on the back of this.

Now it just so happens that my new interest in tag making has kicked in around the start of Tim Holtz’ 12 Tags Of Christmas. I’ve looked on and watch this series for several years now, but this year I want to participate in making some of his inspiring  tags. So watch out for some extra posts during the week, as I show what I’ve done with the ideas.

Happy crafting everyone!

Categories: Lindy's Stamp Gang, Tags | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My First Collaged Tag

  1. Hi Theresa, Thank you for your visit today, and finding out that i was the lucky receiver of your gorgeous tag. How exciting was that, a wonderful surprise, i had only just returned from seeing our Grandson being born when you arrived with another surprise.Thank you for making my day so special.Love Evvie.x
    4/12/2011

  2. Stunning! You know, I’ve had a hankering for tags lately myself. I just saw a magazine picture (Country Living) that was completely decorated with vintage tags. It was gorgeous. Next year, ya think??? Your work is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

