Sympathy For Nev

As a card maker, sometimes I called upon to make a sympathy card, which is what happened a couple of weeks ago. A life long friend of my partner died suddenly a few weeks ago. He was one of the first people he introduce me to, and I had the opportunity on several occassions in the past few years to go and visit at his farm. I knew Nev as big, loud, and barefoot.

The good thing about making my own cards is the opportunity to make a card fitting and appropiate for the individual concerned. With a sympathy card I like the card to reflect the person who was, rather than the recipient. So when Bryan asked me to make a card, I asked him to tell me something about him that he remember most.  He said he was one of the best horse riders in his day, and was the only other person who could ride his contankerous old horse. So with that in mind I set about making a card.

I used my one and only horse stamp from the retired Stampin’Up! Wanted set. I stamped the image in first, second and third generation stamping to get the fading effect of the racing horse. I stamped a splatter pattern (Impression Obsession cover-a-card) in blue over the top. This was to repesent the drought breaking rains we’ve had recently and the flowing creeks we now have. I used the botanical stamp from Stampin’Up! Nature Walk to create a meadow.

What I remember most about Nev was his  feet, LOL. I’d never seen feet so hardened before. I swear that man didn’t need to wear boots since he had his own pair built right on to the soles of his feet. So my reflection of Nev is repesented by the ‘muddy’ edges where I sponged them. Since first meeting Nev, I’ve  noticed a lot of farmers here need to go about their work barefoot, and it’s not unusual to see them out and about with mud encrusted feet.

I couldn’t imagine making a generic type sympathy card like this, but for old Nev I thought it was a good card for the man he was. A hard working farmer, toiling with the earth, the animals and the elements. RIP

Categories: Stampin' Up! | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Sympathy For Nev

  1. Very nicely done card. From what you described, you matched his personality well. All the best. ~Sophia

  2. What a lovely tribute and a terrific combination of images and colors.
    Great memories shared as well.

  3. Very creative and a fitting tribute to the deceased.

  4. Such a sensitive creation, so thoughtful in design and of course, crafted beautifully. Amazing artwork as always!

  5. Fantastic card and much appreciated I am sure.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

