Pieces of Stampendous Dogwood

I love my Stampendous Jumbo Stamps. They are big. Really big. So big, they overhang the edges of my card bases. I love the bigness of them. First, I bought the Peony and made this. Then I traded some paper roses I’d made, for the Rose stamp, and made this. Last week I added another to my collection. The Dogwood. And made this.

I hopped over to the Stampendous Blog and saw they had a challenge on, calling for chipboard to be used in our creations. I just don’t use chipboard, but I knew I had something in my stash from years ago when I once attempted to use it. So I salvaged these from my ‘purge pile’, inked them up, embossed them and added them in a somewhat pleasing manner on my card. Challenge met!

But I’m not here to tell you about the chipboard. I want to talk about that gorgeous jumbo sized stamp. I stamped the image on some scraps from the scrap heap, cut out the flowers, and paper pieced the flowers onto the base image. Easily one of the simplest ways to add colour to the image. I used Distress Inks for this card, including the stamping. I don’t often stamp with Distress Inks, but I do like to use them for these stamps. I used the inks for sponging the edges of the panels and the flowers, to help tie the different papers together. I like the warm, aged feel of this almost monochromatic card. I was just about to trim off the overhang, but decided I liked the way it spilled over the edges.

I’ve got some more Jumbos on my wish list, so you’ll be seeing more projects made with these great stamps in the future.

Categories: Stampendous | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Pieces of Stampendous Dogwood

  1. Nice job on the Stampendous Chipboard Challenge! Love the way this card turned out. That chipboard was just made for the Dogwood Stamp! Thanks for playing with us!

  2. Beautiful soft colors. You card is gorgeous and I love how you didn’t trim off the edges.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

