High School Formal 2011

I’m determinied to get this post up today. I’ve already lost my first attempt for today, so I’ll just try again.

My daughter, Audrey, attended her end of school Formal last week. It marks the end of one chapter of her life (school life)and the beginning of another (work/adult life). It a big event night, with girls in pretty frocks and boys in suits. I took the day off work to help her get ready. Loved spending time with Audrey, watching her getting transformed into a glamourous young lady.

I wanted to make her a little mini album to remember the day. I’d made my first mini album a few months back and I was quite smitten with the idea of making another.

This one was made with chipboard. Something I’m not overly familiar with working with, so you can imagine I learned a few things along the way. Such as, ink/paint the edges of the chipboard before I adhere the paper covers on. LOL. I used the Baroque Motif swirl from Stamping’ Up! through out the mini. And her dress was turquoise with silver accessories, so I used the same colours here. I don’t own much glitter but I did have a turquoise one, so I used it to glitter the title. It was sooooo messy. I had glitter everywhere. Probably won’t do that again, but it seemed like a good idea at the time. But it does look good. The letters are cut from a Tim Holtz (Sizzix) decorative strip die and the little ribbon roses I purchase from a discount shop in town.

I made some of the pages with the Petite Pocket Sizzix die (a Stampin’Up! exclusive), and die cut some spellbinder tags for the inserts. The tags were held together with a matching brad. The silver embossing I used had a lot of sparkle and glitter, so in order to preserve any photos that might get mounted onto the facing page from scratches, I added a vellum leaf between. It was an afterthought, but one that added a lot of interest to the mini. The vellum pages were dry embossed with a folder that came with my Cuttlebug machine.

On the chipboard pages I adhered a die cut Sizzix Scallop Envelope (a Stampin’ Up! exclusive), also holding three tags cut from a Spellbinders die. I embellished the mini envelopes with a flourish die cut from My Favorite Things. The finished mini album had 18 tags and room for another seven photos on the pages. The album is bound with my new Bind It All. I’ve got plans to make some more minis in the near future and the Bind It All makes a practical  finish with it’s spiral binding.

And I’ll leave you with a couple of family pics with the star of the night. Audrey looked beautiful in her turquoise dress. This was rare photo opportunity to get a photo with her and both her parents. Despite our separation, nearly six years ago, we’ve both been active and involved in our childrens upbringing.  We let the children make their choises about where they live, and for the past two years she has stayed with her father so she could go to school in the city. At times it was very difficult for me and my daughter, as we missed each other terribly. I’m pleased it turned out well, and we have a very close relationship despite (or because of) circumstances.

But this is the photo that brings a tear to a mothers eyes. My two grown up children. I was so impressed with the way my son ( her older brother) stepped up to the plate to do his bit to make sure she had a good send off. Like most families, these two have fought and had their battle of wills with each other. But as a mother and a parent I’ll alway look back on this day, and remember this moment this photo was taken, as being the moment when I could say myself, “I think I may have suceeded at parenthood.” 

Here starts a new chapter in my life too.

Categories: About me | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “High School Formal 2011

  1. Deb Cragan

    The booklet is beautifully done.And the insite into your family life brought tears to my eyes. Congratulations all around. You HAVE done a marvellous job all the way around. Thankyou for sharing.

  2. Gorgeous photos Theresa! Love the mini album, great work. You put so much thought into things, and it shows.

  3. Ohh this made me all misty…

  4. Lovely photos, great kids and fabby album.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

