Hope You Can Cling To – Week Four (nearly done)

I got some more of the Hope Challenges done so I thought I’d  take some pics and do a quick write up of each. After last weekends marathon effort of catching up with the challenges, I decided to give myself permission to NOT complete all the challenges. Looking back, I think I must have been mad or posessed, to get in and get done what I did last week. I’m getting use to my long hours of work again, and I know how to fit some crafting time back into my week. And I’m still crazy enough to get up in the wee hours of the morning to get a card made. LOL.

Your Happy Place – Well, I don’t know about you, but my happy place is right at home. There is something so relaxing about walking thru my gate, into the back yard and leaving the cares of the world behind. Even if it’s only for as long as my first cuppa lasts. Sigh! I saw a card recently that was coloured in, in a very naive and simple way, and this was the look I was going for in this card. I used blender pens for the colouring.  Colouring in my images this way reminds me of an art competion I won when I was about 8 years old. I had lots of brush strokes in it, which made it all the more interesting. It would seem that this sort of colouring is what card makers aspire away from. There is a time and place for everything, including brush strokes.

Boo-Bees – Add some bees to your card they asked. So I did. I do believe I own one other bee stamp besides this one. This one is from one of the current stamp sets out by Stampin’ Up! called Nature Walk. I tried making an all over pattern with the bee, but didn’t like it so I started again. It probably doesn’t look like much in the photo, but this is my favourite card this time around. I used the blender pen on this one as well, and I was going for the painterly look. Love the feeling of movement this gives to the image.

Birthday – I kept this one very simple. I inked up this set, Kindness Matters ( S’U!),  for the first time and once again used the blender pen to colour the butterflies. The Soft Suede colour didn’t photograph too well in todays light, which is unfortunate. The sentiment is from an S’U! oldie, Birthday Whimsey.

Sunshine – Lets spread some sunhine! As you can see I didn’t hold back, LOL. It’s bold and it’s very sunny. And this is the card I was making at 3.30 am this morning, just because I could. I figured since I was awake, I should get up and be productive. I used two stamps here, an image and a sentiment by Unity Stamp Co, which were both coloured with marker direct to rubber. I made a mask of the cloud so Icould sponge in some sunny sunshine and beautiful blue skies. Then I goofed up with the sponging, so I tried to distract the eye from ‘mistake’ and used my mask to stencil in some more clouds. This card just makes me smile. 

Humerous – So what do you think I did after I made my sunny card, before the sun was up? I made another card of course, silly. And Silly is what this card is suppose to be. She looks a little odd. (Another stamp from Unity Stamp Co)  Remind you of anyone you know? I guess this would be me most days, LOL. You know what I like about that crazy little rag doll? She’s still smiling! I wanted to try out colouring a white embossed image on kraft. I’ve seen it done before and thought it looked really interesting. Love the way colour shows upon kraft.

Now, this is for those of you who may be wondering how I get all this done in small windows of time. I’ve got two tips for today. The first is, you may have already noticed, that the layouts are basically all the same. A retangle within a retangle. This keeps my focus purely on the main image, and embellishments, if any, are very simple. The other tip, which I’ve just recently started to make use of, is the grid lines on my acrylic block. I line up my cling mounted stamps with the grid on the block, and I know it’ll stamp straight on my paper. I used this technique on cards 1, 4 and 5 of this post. Saved me a heap of time.

Five more challenges to go and I’ll have completed the whole round for this year. Yay. I’ll take the next couple of days off from crafting, and I’ll be back on Sunday with the final five cards of the series. See you soon.

Categories: Hope You Can Cling To | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Hope You Can Cling To – Week Four (nearly done)

  1. I really don’t know how you do all this and work! Fabulous card but I really love the sunshine and the girl at the end -both are so full of hope. I love the colours in the blue one as well……in fact I really love them all.

  2. Wow! I like the Sunshine card and its motivational message.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

