A Glamourous 21st Birthday

Hello readers. Just a quick post today. I didn’t get anything done for the challenges this week, but I did have a 21st birthday to go to, so a card for that was put on the priority list. The handmade invitation was in colours of black, red and silver, so I used the same colours for my card. The dress theme was semi-formal or glamourous. I knew I had to use lots of sparkle on this card, and it just so happenes that I have some super sparkly embossing powders in silver, black and red! So off I went to my craft room to check out which stamps to use that would let me get away with glitter embossing almost everything, without it looking garish. What a challenge!

Bold colours called for a bold design. That, and the fact that the only number stamps I own are the very bold Headline Number (retired) by Stampin’Up! So my next stamp set choise had to be bold as well, so  Brocade Basics (S’U! retired also) fit the bill nicely. The numbers and flourish were embossed in sparkle silver and the flowers in sparkle red.

I found the cute little feathered party dress at a $2 shop and since it looked glamourous I had to use it for this card. I saw that it matched my dressform die cuts perfectly, so I mounted it onto that.

I cut the fancy lables and lace die cuts with spellbinder dies, and I added the real lace trim for some added texture. I felt like it need one more thing, so I stamped up the ‘birthday wishes’ tag, tucked it under the label frame and called it done. The finished card was a large format, 6″x6″ card front, and I find the easle card fold style the best choise to support this weighty design.

The party, which was last night, was indeed a very sparkly affair. Lots of pretty dress, and fellows added some flair to their outfits too. Now, if I was smart enough I would have asked someone to take a couple of pics of me and my fellow all dressed up with a bit of glam stylin’ going on. Maybe next time.

Categories: Spellbinders, Stampin' Up! | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A Glamourous 21st Birthday

  1. Firstly, glad it was a good night and you got all glammed up! Great card and I am sure the recipient enjoyed it. I do like easel cards and this one is a beauty.

  2. Such a nice card, looks fabulous. I love it !!

  3. bev.ballard46@yahoo.com.au

    What a beautiful card, thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

