Hope You Can Cling To – Week Two

Another week of challenges complete. This week I managed to use some new stuff for the first time, but I also found some things I’ve had for years and never used before. So that was a bonus. A lot of different styles in the finished cards, but I tried to keep the cards as simple as I can while still making them look a bit interesting.

Looking In On You – This challenge asked us to make a window card, so I went with the idea of looking thru a window to a view outside. I had this flourish tree pre cut for the challenges, and it seemed like a good fit for my window view. The little hearts were glittered, which was very fiddly and messy, but well worth the effort. It looks so whimsical. It was all going well until I goofed up with the mounting it onto my card base. Somethings not quite right with it and I can’t quite put my finger on it. I think the ‘styles’ are a little bit mixed up on it, but it is what it is, so I’ll move on to……………

Colours Of Hope – a colour challenge of yellow, green and brown. I used the Chocolate Baroque, Glade Build A Tree for this one. I’d made my first card with this set, which can be seen in the previous post. This time I wanted to use the same set, but aim for a completely different look. Some stamps inspire me to versatility, and this is one of them. I really was just playing around with this and making things up as I went along. Somethings worked and somethings didn’t, but the end result I’m happy with. An idea worth developing I think. I like the boldness of the yellow with all that white space.

Hang In There – This one asked us to include something that was hanging. I thoought this heart strings stamp from Unity fit the bill for this card. Not that you can tell from the photo, but the stings are embossed with a sparkly silver powder and the hearts were done in a plain silver, which are then popped up on foam dots.. The silver sparkly livens up this very simple styled card. I think I’d like a heartstring fringe hanging in my window.

Things Are Looking Up – I love my tree stamps, so I found another one for this challenge where we had to think about something we see when we look up. I stamped in the leaves and I coloured and punched out the blossoms. I found this sentiment in the stamp set with the tree and I thought it was perfect inspiration statement for this card drive. The tree and sentiment are by Unity Ippity, What Matters Most.

Bosom Buddies –  Some of you will remember this rose from a few posts back. I’d made  a few of them at the time and I pulled one out of my stash for this card. I heat embossed the flourishes in the background with an embosiing powder I don’t ever recall ever using before. The photo doesn’t pick it up, but the cool thing about this powder is that it varies in colour depending on how much heat is applied. So  the flourish has colours of green, yellows, golds, and pinks. Very pretty. I outlined the flourish with a white gel pen. The theme of this card is about friendship, and it was my personal favourite of the week. The stamps are Jumbo Clings By Stampendous and the sentiment by Stampin’ Up

Fight Like A Girl – Add ribbon, lace, sparkles and glitter and make it a very girly card! Somehow I managed to make a card with all of that and still kept it very simple looking. I was a bit imtimidated by this challenge at first, especially the ribbon part. I paper-toled the roses, and tucked a few pieces of folded ribbon behind. I used one of my all time favourite high sparkle embossing powder on the flourish, rose leaves and paper strip.  Very glittery and very girly. Flourish stamp is from Stampin’ Up! Baroque Motifs.

Brave Heart – This card is all about featuring hearts and I have a total of 42 of them here! My coloured hearts were punched from a scrap from previous project. I had painted the paper heavily with Twinkling H2O’s, so each little heart has a very spetty shimmer to it. I do believe this is the first time I’ve ever used this heart embossing folder too. It was a secondhand one I pick up in a lot sale months ago. Another sentiment from Stampin’ Up!

Butterflies – Oh dear! I made this card when I wasn’t feeling the best, and from beginning to end there was no direction about what I was trying to do. I’ve got a nice selection of butterfly stamps, and this is yet another item in my supplies that until now had not been used. It’s a Hero Arts Heart Winged Butterfly.  And I found another jar of embossing powder I’ve not used either – a super sparkly black. The butterflies were painted with shimmer paints in pinks, blues and golds. The blue back ground was sponged on after masking the images.

If you have any questions or comments about the cards or the challenges I’m involved in, please feel  let me know in the comments. I’d love to hear from you.

Categories: Cottage Cutz, Hope You Can Cling To, Stampendous | Tags: , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Hope You Can Cling To – Week Two

  1. All of them are fabulous. Love all the hearts and the themes for the challenges are very inspiring. Beautiful cards one and all…love your style.

  2. These are so beautiful! Thanks for using the Stampendous Jumbo Rose and Friendship Assortment Clear Stamps! We really appreciate your support of our products!

  3. Michelle (DottyTeapot)

    These are all divine Theresa! Just simply beautiful. I really love the different techniques you’ve used with the different powders too- really effective. I’m a whimsical/tree/flower girl myself, and am in awe of what you have come up with, very inspirational!

  4. Kasha

    These cards are beautiful Teresa. I particulary like the hanging hearts.

  5. Wow, what a fabby collection – love, love, love them! Such a lot of different techniques used. Wonderful and inspiring.

  6. Hi Teresa — it’s your long lost friend who really does still exist!! LOL I’m catching up on your blog and LOVING it! You have been busy girlfriend!! You’ve turned me on to Ippity Stamps! I MUST have that tree set (What Matters Most), and I love the many sentiments it has too. But one question for you …. how did you stamp the green leaves on your tree? I did not see that as part of the set, so you must have a trick up your sleeve! Great work friend! By the way — your last email is STILL in my in-box and I read it often, pray and give thanks for you often, and look forward to the day God brings you for a visit!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

