Hope You Can Cling To – Week One

Splitcoast Stampers is running a card drive, Hope You can Cling To, during the month of October for breast cancer patients. October 1, was also World Card Making Day, so the drive was kicked off with three card making challenges on that day, and then after that one challenge each day is posted. Today I’ll get to show you what I’ve got made so far with the first seven challenges.

Pink Critters – We started off with a challenge to make a card featuring a creature that is made pink. I used a Cottage Cutz Dove die cut and sponged in some shadows to give it some shape. The golden glow on it’s breast came about when I picked up the wrong sponge to work with. Lucky it turned out to be a happy accident. The oval nestabilities came in real handy as they fit the dove beautifully. I rarely use oval cuts for my cards, and I was thinking of removing them from my collection and selling them off. Glad I held onto them after all as you just never know when a ‘need’ may arise.

Bling It On – This card required some bling on it, so I used some pink stick on gems to add accents to the Spellbinders Classic Lace border die cut. I fished out a bird (Caged Bird by Sizzix) from my die cut stash and added some little leaves I had left over from another project. I don’t often use embellishments on my cards so using bling as a starting point for this card was a bit strange for me. Therefore I kept it all very simple.

Encircled With Love – I love how this card turned out. I’d bought this stamp set a few weeks ago from Chocolate Baroque (Glade Build A Tree) and this was the first time I got to use it. A great set, which I’m sure you’ll see more of on this blog. I needed to make a circle card for this challenge and I turned it into an easle card for stability. The base panel, which holds the card up, was in fact a salvage from the scrap heap. My first attempt at stamping the main image didn’t quite work, but I was able to find a very good use for it eventually. In all truth, I’d probably would never have thought to stamp the base to match the image. What was once a reject, is now a feature of this card which gives it it’s WOW factor.

You’re My Inspiration! – We were provided with a photo a cupcakes decorated with pink bras. Interesting. I went with the idea of cake and  pink on this one. The cake is assembled from Cottage Cutz Celebration Cake die. The die cuts all the bits and pieces you need to make the cake, decorations and all, including the tiny little dots. It requires a bit of patience to glue all the bits together but I think it makes a great looking cake, don’t you? I also added some white gel pen accents with some glitter for extra pizazz.

Real Men Wear Pink –  Ummmm…yeah!?? Now I can’t imagine my blokey-bloke farmer guy wearing pink, ……… unless …….. let me see if I remember this correctly …….. unless it’s his faded t-shirt, that supports his most beloved Rugby League team, the Brisbane Broncos, the maroon and gold. The gold still looks yellow, but the maroon has faded to pink!! And I just so happen to have a Rugby stamp set. How perfect is that. I used the kissing technique with Cover-a-card stamps from Impression Obsession on the running player image. I would never have thought to use these two together had I not done this challenge. Lets face it, I had to ‘dirty’ up the players somehow, LOL.

H.O.P.E. Having Only Paper Embellishments – Ahhhh, this is a challenge very much after my own style. I went with a lot of die cuts and punches on this one. I felt like I was doing a wee bit of flower arranging getting this card together. I’d precut and preassembled a lot of my die cut pieces in the previous weeks in preparation for these challenges. So I pulled out the bits I wanted, cut a couple more shapes to tie it all together, made an arrangment, and glued it all down. Note to self: find a different way to store pre-cut spirally flourishes so they don’t get all tangled up with each other, LOL

Circle Sketch – the sketch featured a large and small circle in a square.  I’ve made my own patterned paper for the background. Using the watercolour crayon stamping technique, I stamped one pattern over the top of another pattern. I just love using my background stamps like this. I was given a package of Martha Stewart flowers and I’m determined to put them all to good use during these challenges. Here I’ve used three of them and added some other die cuts and punches to accompany them.

Next Sunday I’ll have another weeks worth of card making challenges to share with you, so be sure to pop back in to see what I’ve been up to.

Categories: Cottage Cutz, Hope You Can Cling To, Spellbinders | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Hope You Can Cling To – Week One

  1. nancy dempsey

    Beautiful! Stunning! Incredible!

  2. WOW -what an inspirational set! Fabulous. Especially love the pink Rugby players!!!~!~! Just found out that the 28 yr old daughter of a good friend has BC and one breast removed – she went to the roller hockey game as soon as she could get out of hospital – 2 days later! So strong…..

  3. These are great Theresa!!! Fabulous selection of cards, showcase your great talent!!

  4. Beautiful cards, I love what you have done with the glade tree – it looks like a 1970s liberty print fabric – gorgeous.

    Glenda

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

