Dress Form And Flowers

Today I have another challenge card for you. Did you like the surprise midweek posting I had this week of the other challenge card? I haven’t done challenges in so long, and it’s time to get involved in them again, because I’m going to participate in a month long set of challenges for a card drive. As I was clearing my table for the card drive I thought I’d practice with another challenge. 

 

This week The Inkspiration Blog is hosting a Sketch Challenge, and the sketch is very simple. Just the way I like it! But when I came to arranging the layers with the colours I had out, I came a bit unstuck. So I simplified it a bit more. The sketch that is. The card still had a lot of pretty ‘fuss’ about it.

I originally had those three panels on Rose Red card stock, but it just wasn’t working for me. So I tried a few different combos, changing the layers and the base. Nope! In the end I opted for just sponging Rose Red ink to the edges. I then tried to fit the horizonal band in behind the panels, but I decided I like that strip on the base of my panels, so I moved it. And I wanted to use the oval placement for a flourish, and as you can see it grew and grew, LOL. So, as you can see, I tweaked the sketch a bit to suit my card.

As soon as I saw the sketch I knew I wanted to use my dress form die on one of the panels.  I was successful in using that dress form, and also very successful in making a big mess on my desk that I just cleaned up!  This happens to you, right? I had leaves cut from several shades of green. I had a reject pile of bases and layering card stock. I had more punched flowers than I needed. You know how it goes. LOL

Some of the leaves for my ‘over growth’, were stamped on. I wanted more foliage with out the extra bulk of more dies cuts. These die cut leaves are cut from THIS die and they are a great match for the stamp in size and form, and it echoes the design in the paper nicely too.  The stamp is from  the retired Stampin’ Up! Stem Silhouette set, the paper is Authentique ‘Uncommon’, and the greens and yellows are from the scrap heap.

I love spotty and dotty paper, one because I just like the look of the print, but I also like that I can punch out little flowers using the dots for the center. I simply align the dot into the middle of the punch area, punch, and presto a little flower with built in center. It’s a thrifty and quick way of embellishing with flowers. For me, I just like the look and it’s how I like to work.

Later today I start a month long card making marathon for the Hope You Can Cling To Challenges at Splitcoast Stampers, so I’ll have lots of cards to show you next week, and the week after, and ……. till the end of the month. And since it is a breast cancer card drive I dare say the colour pink will be most prominent. Till next time, happy crafting, or maybe even join in the card drive HERE. It’s good fun and lots of good prizes are on offer too.

Categories: Makeesha's Challenges | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Dress Form And Flowers

  1. So pretty! That is a great sketch design. And…you made me remember that I have one of those dress form dies too. I’ll have to get it out….I love the look of the flowers spilling over the die cut. Great inspiration once again! PS…I signed up for another of Christy’s classes!!! (all the while being so far behind on the current ones—LOL!)

  2. Signing up for another class made me laugh. My crafting/creative plate is so full at the moment I don’t dare look at classes. Mind you I’ve got a couple in mind I like to take for next year. I hope to see all your creative works in the near future.

  3. Awesome! I love the flower details! Thanks for playing this week.

    Hugs,
    Brandi

  4. Marisa

    Great use of the dress form and love the punched flowers. Thanks for joining us at Inkspirations this week.

  5. Gorgeous card Theresa! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

