Move It With Cottage Cutz

I had the day off work today so I thought I use my bonus time off to get something done at the craft table. Namely, tidying it up!!  World Card Making Day in on in a couple of days, and it’s the kick off day for a month long set of challenges at Splitcoast Stampers. I participated in the one they ran last year, and I want to do the same again this year. The key to doing lots of challenges is to be organized, so I started to clear the table and prepare things that I’m most likely to use in my card making. But if you’re anything like me, you get easily distracted.

Todays distraction was, would you believe it, a challenge. And this one is from The Scrapping Cottage, the makers of Cottage Cutz dies. I recently discovered Cottage Cutz dies and I wanted to give them a try, so I bought a few. Most of the images are really cute. Now those of you who know me, know I don’t do cute. So either I’m changing or they have a cute style that I find palatable to work with, lol. Don’t get me wrong, I love a cute card, I just don’t know how to use cute things to make cards. But I’ll try.

I got a Mini Stocking die in my parcel so I used it for this card. I wanted to make this a Clean and Simple card, and keep the stockings the main focus. The stocking was cut from some scraps of heavy weight patterned paper. I made a mask of the stocking, minus the heel and fold over, so I could sponge those details onto the cut out. But wait, there’s more!

This challenge was to make a card with something that MOVES. Look what happens when I shake the card. The stockings are dangling from the brads and everytime I pick it up they MOVE!!! Cute huh??? As I write this post I keep picking it up and giving it a little shake to get those things moving. Love it. I’m looking for a shoe box idea for my cardmaker club, and I think this will go on the short list of possibilities. It’s simple with a WOW factor. It’d also suitable to give for that ever challenging demographic in card making – males!

I’m happy! Cute and fun!!!

Categories: Cottage Cutz | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Move It With Cottage Cutz

  1. Totally cute, Theresa! Love moving cards and that little stocking is perfect. Like the embossing background and faux mantle. Clever! Definitely should be on your list for shoebox swap. Wish I could join in!

  2. Traci Major

    Very fun…and pretty cool that they can move and you don’t have to make one of those sliders which always look like a lot of trouble!! I love that stocking style too!! Hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

